OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Archives
OmniTrader 2016 Technical Support
Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names
Last Activity 5/2/2018 5:27 PM
7 replies, 1496 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
Vinay

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 479

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names
Posted : 11/25/2015 4:27 AM
Post #35841

The Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names of the Stocks. The data source is MetaStock EOD. The default country and exchange are "IN" NSE (India_National) and country specific symbol database in use is "IN".





[Edited by Vinay on 11/25/2015 4:30 AM]

Attached file : DynamicScanSymbols.jpg (82KB - 360 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
5000100100100252525
Posts: 5395

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names
Posted : 12/1/2015 9:20 AM
Post #35849 - In reply to #35841

I reproduced & reported.
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 479

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names
Posted : 12/5/2015 2:02 AM
Post #35871 - In reply to #35841

This problem is similar to the problem reported earlier (which was subsequently fixed) by me for OT-2015 in the following thread:

http://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/otforum/thread-view.asp?threadid=8939

On further digging I have found that the "Stocks.OTD" file located at "C:\Program Files\Nirvana\OmniData\IN" doesn't save Name,Open,High,Low,Close etc in its database, whereas the corresponding file for US which is located at "C:\Program Files\Nirvana\OmniData\US" have these data stored in it in the Symbols Table.



[Edited by Vinay on 12/5/2015 2:07 AM]

^ Top
Vinay

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 479

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names
Posted : 7/6/2016 10:02 AM
Post #37230 - In reply to #35841

Apart from the above mentioned problem I have also noticed that OmniTrader is switching Date with Month & vice versa. In the following image Dynamic Scan was run on 04/07/16 (4th July) with data updated upto 01/07/16 (1st July). You can see that last date shown is 05/12/2016 (which should be read as 5th December, 2016 because that is the way the Date format in my Windows Control Panel is configured).





It is similar to a problem I experienced earlier with "Current Order Confirmations" (which was subsequently fixed) and reported here:

http://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/otforum/thread-view.asp?threadid=6566



[Edited by Vinay on 7/6/2016 11:28 AM]

Attached file : EndDate.jpg (85KB - 227 downloads)

^ Top
Vinay

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 479

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names
Posted : 7/6/2016 10:10 AM
Post #37231 - In reply to #35841

OmniTrader is switching the Date with Month and vice versa is confirmed by the pattern of the days for which the Dynamic Scan Symbols window is showing the Symbols:

01/06/2016

02/06/2016 & 03/06/2016 were trading days but not showing anything

04/06/2016 Sat - Market Closed
05/06/2016 Sun - Market Closed

06/06/2016
13/06/2016
14/06/2016
15/06/2016
16/06/2016
17/06/2016
20/06/2016
22/06/2016
23/06/2016
24/06/2016
27/06/2016
28/06/2016
29/06/2016
30/06/2016
01/07/2016
04/07/2016
06/07/2016
01/08/2016
02/08/2016
03/08/2016
04/08/2016
06/08/2016
02/09/2016
03/09/2016
05/09/2016
06/09/2016
02/10/2016

As you can see that for several days when trading did take place the Dynamic Scan Window doesn't show any data and for several weekends when the trading was closed it is showing data. I have marked one example of each one of these situations.

Since Dates and Months are messed up in Dynamic Scans I suspect that the results shown using Dynamic Scans are suspect (at least for us who are not using OmniData and have different Date format than the usual US Date format).



[Edited by Vinay on 7/6/2016 10:35 AM]

^ Top
Vinay

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 479

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names
Posted : 1/24/2017 10:26 AM
Post #38737 - In reply to #35841

Barry, Although OT2017 PR-2C has fixed the Symbol name not showing problem but the erroneous dates issue still remains. Please get it fixed as soon as possible to enable us to start using Dynamic Scans.

P.S. Few months ago similar issue (Date & month getting interchanged) was present in "Current Order Confirmations" also which was subsequently fixed. I wonder why such issues crops up in the first place?

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
5000100100100252525
Posts: 5395

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names
Posted : 4/4/2017 4:01 PM
Post #40906 - In reply to #38737

PR2G is now available with the dates fixed.
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 479

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Dynamic Scan Symbols do not show Names
Posted : 4/5/2017 5:17 AM
Post #40909 - In reply to #35841

Thanks Barry for getting it fixed.

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.