OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader 2017 Upgrade Forums
OptionTrader
OptionTrader4
Last Activity 10/6/2017 12:14 PM
11 replies, 1086 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
NormanH

Member

Posts: 19

Joined: 11/23/2011
Location: Richmond VA

User Profile
 
Subject : OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 11:35 AM
Post #37254

I just got a card in the mail for OptionTrader 4. I am trying to understand the features.

1) If you have an option position (credit spread, etc) that is NOT in the program, can you input it and have OptionTrader run its calculations and graphs on it?

2) I can't find any documentation on the Visual Volatility Tool. Has anyone tried it, is it useful?
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5246

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 12:23 PM
Post #37255 - In reply to #37254

1. You mean if you have one open at your broker? Not really. The closest you'd be able to get would be to run Lab Mode/Simulation & enter the same trade on the same bar that you entered at your broker matching it as close as you can. It won't simulate the trade exactly, but you might be able to get close.

2. In the Option Trader User Guide, check page 20.

^ Top
NormanH

Member

Posts: 19

Joined: 11/23/2011
Location: Richmond VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 1:40 PM
Post #37257 - In reply to #37254

Thanks for your reply. I don't currently have any version of the program. Omnitrader has an OptionTrader pdf. However, it is from 2010 and makes no mention of The Visual Volatility Tool. It must have been added after 2010. If it is legal could you put up a current pdf or at least the page explaining the Visual Volatility Tool. I have been looking for some software that can show how the skew is changing for different term structures. This looks like the tool might do exactly that.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5246

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 2:40 PM
Post #37258 - In reply to #37257

It's not a problem, see attached.
Attached file : Option Trader User Guide.pdf (905KB - 198 downloads)

^ Top
NormanH

Member

Posts: 19

Joined: 11/23/2011
Location: Richmond VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 2:47 PM
Post #37259 - In reply to #37254

Thanks so much. I will get busy reading it.
^ Top
mgerber

Member

Posts: 19

Joined: 12/18/2003
Location: Issaquah, WA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 3:11 PM
Post #37260 - In reply to #37258

Hi, Barry.

When I try to open your OptionTrader 4 attachment, I don't get the .pdf

I get something called octet-stream . . .


Mark G.

On Firefox, octet-stream:



Edit: I have not used Internet Explorer for years, and thought that I was in IE 11 when I posted this screen shot. But it turns out MS made a new browser called Edge. the icon looks just like the old IE 11, but a darker blue.

On Edge, the screen shot shows .asp:




It took a bit of googling to find out that IE 11 is available as a legacy alternative to the new Edge. And even more googling to discover how to find it: It is under Window Accessories.

IE 11 does not show the classic Adobe Reader interface, but I can download your .pdf now.

BTW, discovered this about the new Edge browser:
https://helpx.adobe.com/acrobat/using/display-pdf-in-browser.html


Microsoft Windows 10 will ship with two browsers: Internet Explorer 11 and the new Edge browser.

The Edge browser will be the default browser, and Internet Explorer 11 will be available to support legacy workflows. The new Edge browser will not have any support for ActiveX plug-ins. Therefore, the Acrobat/Reader plug-in won't work with Edge.

[Edited by mgerber on 7/14/2016 9:59 AM]

Attached file : Trying to get the OptionTrader 4 pdf.png (14KB - 465 downloads)
Attached file : MS Edge browser screen shot.png (21KB - 367 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5246

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 3:37 PM
Post #37261 - In reply to #37260

Mark, it looks like you're having trouble with your Firefox or Adobe Reader. I would try a different browser first.
^ Top
mgerber

Member

Posts: 19

Joined: 12/18/2003
Location: Issaquah, WA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 4:24 PM
Post #37264 - In reply to #37261

Firefox is working perfectly. I just opened four different .pdf files in various OT forum threads, and they all opened normally.


--Mark

Edited prior posts to reflect information about new Win 10 Edge browser vs. legacy IE 11.

Still don't know why Firefox will not open just this one .pdf link . . . a continuing mystery.


[Edited by mgerber on 7/13/2016 11:39 PM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100
Posts: 2718

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 4:51 PM
Post #37268 - In reply to #37264

HI Mark

Fwiw - for what ver reason, Safari opens it on an iPhone as a PDF, and saves it as such.
^ Top
NormanH

Member

Posts: 19

Joined: 11/23/2011
Location: Richmond VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/13/2016 7:27 PM
Post #37270 - In reply to #37254

Mark it does open as a .pdf for me using internet explorer 11. I also was able to download it directly to my hard drive as a .pdf file and then open it using adobe reader.
^ Top
NormanH

Member

Posts: 19

Joined: 11/23/2011
Location: Richmond VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 7/14/2016 9:45 AM
Post #37271 - In reply to #37260

Thanks for the update. One day I will have to use Windows 10, it will be good to know about the alternate browser.
^ Top
Mrtbob

Member

Posts: 5

Joined: 2/29/2012
Location: Colorado

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OptionTrader4
Posted : 9/25/2016 12:30 PM
Post #37349 - In reply to #37254

I just saw your post--I'm using option trader 4 and have used option 2 and 3 so have experience with all. Yes, it took me time to figure out how to use and get the setup I want but I finally got there.
To answer you question--Yes you can setup any type of spread you want, the skew graph will not pick this up (I have told nirvana about this_ However, the current program can be set to run credit spreads or whatever choice you pick and return results for these option setups. So, it's good at finding option setups using the option finder tools. Not to confuse you, Option Trader 4 does show the skew graph for the results it finds and you can click through these selections and it will update the graph, then you can select from this list or change it if you like, but it will not pick up any of these new changes on the graph, if you change from the original selected setup. If you're looking for an option scanner and want to just go with its selections then I recommend this plugin to get you in the ballpark. I use it daily but put in my option trades through another broker (TOS), because I make changes and have to see how my greeks change my setup. Finally, visual volatility tool is not the best for telling you anything about your option trade--it looks good but that's it for me. Bottom line, this plugin will help you if you are new to option trading and do not want the big learning curve with options trading.

I hope this helps

[Edited by Mrtbob on 9/25/2016 12:38 PM]

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.