OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader 2017 Upgrade Forums
OmniScan
Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Trades
Last Activity 2/4/2018 9:44 AM
9 replies, 810 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100010010010025
Posts: 1327

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Trades
Posted : 12/15/2016 5:17 PM
Post #38563

All:

Slogging through the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Trades can be tedious.

Attached is a modified OmniScan to detect the cream of the crop.

Note that it does this by taking into account all the Filter Blocks in the CRT-3 Strategy to filter out viable Long and Short candidates.

The resulting list you get still has to be run by the CRT-3 Strategy to see if a trading signal will fire on these well-vetted candidates.

And also note that even though the CRT-3 Strategy only fires Longs I have included possible Short candidates should you change your mind.

Also note that if no trading signals fire whatsoever it may be because there are no Long Signals or because all the candidates discovered were short candidates on the only Long firing CRT-3 Strategy.

To implement the OmniScan open your OmniScan list via the pencil icon in the Focus List and right-click on any OmniScan under Custom Lists. Select Import List and locate where exactly you stored the downloaded OmniScan presented here.

Once imported the OmniScan will look like this:




Today you only have 6 stocks to evaluate.

ZOOM!

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 12/15/2016 5:27 PM]

Attached file : _CRT_45_3_32_Strategy_32_Ready_32_Russell_32_3000.otl (1KB - 71 downloads)
Attached file : CRT-3 Strategy Ready Russell 3000.PNG (40KB - 345 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5248
Online

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Tra
Posted : 12/15/2016 5:34 PM
Post #38564 - In reply to #38563

Here's a tip many customers aren't aware of that makes importing an OmniScan quite easy. Just place the otl file in the ...Nirvana/OT2017/ScanImports folder. OT will import it automatically into OmniScan for you on startup.
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100010010010025
Posts: 1327

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Tra
Posted : 12/15/2016 5:58 PM
Post #38565 - In reply to #38564

Barry:

Even more Easy Peasy!

Thanks,

Tom Helget
^ Top
trading4rent

Member
25
Posts: 28

Joined: 9/26/2006
Location: Illinois

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Tra
Posted : 1/5/2017 4:47 PM
Post #38638 - In reply to #38563

Question regarding CRT-3 strategy. After I run it I will generate a list but possibly there might be only 1 ticker on the list that has the words "CRT-3" under the strategy header. If I go and check that stock out it will show on the bottom of the chart the vote with an arrow. Most of the time this vote is already ended and it might say something like "user defined stop" and show the profit or loss. So basically I am looking for general info on the crt-3 program.
If a stock populates on the list is that a crt-3 pick ?
Why does a an older crt-3 stock stay on the list (unless it regenerates a new position) ?
What indicators should I have open to monitor a crt-3 hit ?

Thanks in Advance,
Brian-
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100010010010025
Posts: 1327

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Tra
Posted : 1/5/2017 5:13 PM
Post #38639 - In reply to #38638

Brian:

I am not sure I truly understand your question, but if are using the OmniScan I posted in this thread it's only purpose is to bring forth stocks meeting the Filter criteria of the CRT-3 Strategy. There are seven of these filters and so paring down the Russell 3000 to just the handful of stocks that meet these criteria saves a lot of processing time in running the CRT-3 strategy.

Now it might well be that even though all the Filter Criteria are a go there is still no trading signal being issued for the day in question. However, it is thoroughly possible that there was a valid trading signal several days or months ago when all the stars were in alignment and that is showing up on your chart.

To monitor a CRT-3 hit you might want to have the ADX, TRII, Volume, and a 5-period SMA on your chart. You might also want to Plot Stops on Chart via Chart Options....Trades.

I hope that is what you were looking for!

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 1/5/2017 5:26 PM]

^ Top
trading4rent

Member
25
Posts: 28

Joined: 9/26/2006
Location: Illinois

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Tra
Posted : 1/5/2017 5:28 PM
Post #38640 - In reply to #38563

I attached a file of the picture for results from today. You will notice only 1 of the tickers says CRT3 but there are multiple tickers on the list. The ticker "X" is the only ticker that says CRT3 under strategy but there are multiple tickers on the list. Are all the tickers on the list possible CRT3 candidates or just "X" ?
Attached file : CRT3.PNG (5KB - 56 downloads)
Attached file : CRT3.PNG (5KB - 37 downloads)

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100010010010025
Posts: 1327

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Tra
Posted : 1/5/2017 6:17 PM
Post #38641 - In reply to #38640

Brian:

Just X on your list had the CRT Strategy fire at some time in the past and today is showing an exit signal.

Where all the rest of the stocks on the list came from I don't really know.

If you had been using the OmniScan I posted above in this thread the following stocks would have appeared and running the CRT-3 Strategy over them might have produced a possible trade today or an in-trade trade or nothing at all:




Again I am not sure I have truly answered your question.

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 1/5/2017 6:21 PM]

Attached file : Tonight's OmniScan Winners.PNG (6KB - 216 downloads)

^ Top
trading4rent

Member
25
Posts: 28

Joined: 9/26/2006
Location: Illinois

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Tra
Posted : 1/5/2017 7:42 PM
Post #38642 - In reply to #38563

I adjusted my settings to match your settings for the CRT3 from the beginning of this thread. My results were mostly similar but I still have a lot of symbols that did not generate a signal but still populated in the list. Not sure why. Could these be the symbols that match the starting population but did not trigger an CRT3 alert ?

Thanks Again,
Brian-
Attached file : CRT3.PNG (7KB - 46 downloads)

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100010010010025
Posts: 1327

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Tra
Posted : 1/5/2017 8:42 PM
Post #38643 - In reply to #38642

Brian:

If you were using the OmniScan that I posted at the start of this thread the resulting "list" should look just like the one I posted an hour ago.

Now remember these are possible candidates. They meet the seven filters in the strategy so that the strategy does not have to sift through the entire Russell 3000 stocks checking each one to see if all the filters are satisfied. That process is "pre-done" via my OmniScan. What is left are only those stocks that possibly could give a trading signal today. Now the strategy can be applied to only that handful of good candidates to see if any of them fulfill the trading system's parameters. The reason an instrument might not yield a trading signal is two-fold - either the trading system isn't generating a valid Long trading signal or the OmniScan has yielded a possible Short candidate. Now the CRT-3 Strategy trades currently only to the Long side, but it can generate Short signals as well if a slight modification in the Strategy is made. Since I didn't know if someone might eventually want to do that I included the possibility for it in the OmniScan as well.

Again, I hope that that is clear. By the way I finally figured out that the CRT-3 scan you were displaying came with the CRT-3 package and did not do nearly as much of the pre-filtering as my version presented here does. That is why you have so many more possibilities to screen.

Tom Helget
^ Top
Steve Luerman

Veteran
100252525
Posts: 185

Joined: 8/19/2005
Location: Boulder, CO

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Don't Slog Thru the Russell 3000 for CRT-3 Tra
Posted : 3/22/2017 4:42 PM
Post #40880 - In reply to #38563

Tom,
Thanks for the formula. See my post for something to be aware of with comments in OmniScan formulas:
https://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/otforum/thread-view.asp?threadid=14381&posts=1#0
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.