OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader 2017 Upgrade Forums
Plug-ins for OmniTrader
I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Last Activity 12/24/2017 1:50 AM
20 replies, 2266 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100010010010025
Posts: 1327

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 10:54 AM
Post #40890

Support:

I just got the new SqueezeTrader Plug-In and I am having trouble seeing the Squeeze On and Squeeze Off dots along the zero line of the Histogram. Now I have the Width cranked up to 5 and Dot selected but still have a tough time seeing the "Squeeze" being represented:



Now I know it can be done as was shown in my home grown OmniScript TTM Squeeze system I devised a long time ago.

Is there something I am missing here?

Thanks,

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 4/1/2017 10:56 AM]

Attached file : I'll Show You Mine.......PNG (81KB - 682 downloads)

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100
Posts: 2720

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 11:17 AM
Post #40891 - In reply to #40890

Hi, Tom

If it's not too big, would you attach the PDF of the Help manual to this thread? Seems like N is moving away from the fancy brochures ... the ad doesn't really give much info.

Thanks
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
1001001001002525
Posts: 460

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 11:33 AM
Post #40892 - In reply to #40890

EYEGUY...You are not alone. No matter what setting I use (I even tried width of 10), I am not able to see the dots unless I drag the indicator pane halfway through the main chart area. In fact the width setting doesn't seems to make any difference as far as the squeeze on/off dots are concerned.

Jim.. I have attached the SqueezeTrader User Manual in this post.



[Edited by Vinay on 4/1/2017 11:38 AM]

Attached file : SqueezeTrader User Guide.pdf (858KB - 91 downloads)

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100010010010025
Posts: 1327

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 1:08 PM
Post #40893 - In reply to #40892

Vinay:

Thanks for the confirmation!

One always worries in posting such things that he may have overlooked the obvious.

But the e-mail teaser sure was pretty specific:




Tom Helget



[Edited by EYEGUY on 4/1/2017 1:10 PM]

Attached file : I Can See Clearly Now.PNG (84KB - 641 downloads)

^ Top
Diamondjag

Veteran
100100
Posts: 214

Joined: 11/25/2006
Location: Brighton, Co.

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 2:31 PM
Post #40894 - In reply to #40890

I noticed that you do get "dots" when you add either HA Trend or BB Bandwidth indicators. When you delete both of those indicators, the KB Squeeze "dots" go away. They aren't really dots but small squares. If you reduce days down to 20 days, you can see the squares better. Attached is the same ticker and data period as in the ad.

Also noticed...for me, if you use the "months" Toolbar...the dots are most visible depending on the timeframe you use.

Couple of other things I noticed, at least in my version. the KB Squeeze Indicator has multiple settings. I tried to increase the Squeeze On and Squeeze Off line (these should be the little dots or squares) width up to 10 and saw no change in the chart. But...I found that you can make the Histogram more visible by adjusting the MomPosRising upward. That one adjustment changes ALL the up and down histogram bars but the other three "Mom" adjustments don't seem to do anything. I set the MomPosRising to 2. Seems like if you set it higher you drowned out or overwhelm the little squeeze dots or squares and make them harder to see.




[Edited by Diamondjag on 4/1/2017 5:33 PM]

Attached file : Squeeze Dots.JPG (101KB - 638 downloads)

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100
Posts: 2720

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 4:20 PM
Post #40895 - In reply to #40890

FYI ... those "dots" are simply short histogram bars.

N prob needs to modify the logic so the dot-height is proportionate to yaxis scale.

I use tricks like this all the time in coding.
^ Top
Diamondjag

Veteran
100100
Posts: 214

Joined: 11/25/2006
Location: Brighton, Co.

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 4:43 PM
Post #40896 - In reply to #40895

Jim, That may be but the Histogram bars themselves are two shades of blue above and red and yellow below the zero line. The little squares are only red and green and do correspond to when the Keltner channel are inside or outside the Bollinger Bands.

[Edited by Diamondjag on 4/1/2017 5:12 PM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100
Posts: 2720

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 4:48 PM
Post #40897 - In reply to #40896

You can build indic panes with "layers" of histo's on top of one another, with varying widths such as you see there. The colors are controllable separately for each bar.

Doesn't really matter since this is a canned strat, but I thot the explanation might clarify why sometimes the short fat bars (ie dots or squares) disappear. It has to do with the automated Y-axis scaling, I'm pretty sure ... that scaling changes with Symbol and time-window

[Edited by Jim Dean on 4/1/2017 4:51 PM]

^ Top
Charlie F.

Regular
2525
Posts: 50

Joined: 11/26/2003
Location: Chester, CA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 5:56 PM
Post #40898 - In reply to #40890

It looks as if the only Width setting in the Lines Settings is only working on the MoMPosRising Line...charlie
^ Top
Stumpy

Veteran
100100
Posts: 208

Joined: 5/25/2004
Location: Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 8:03 PM
Post #40899 - In reply to #40890

Has anyone done any testing on this would love to see some results posted
^ Top
Charlie F.

Regular
2525
Posts: 50

Joined: 11/26/2003
Location: Chester, CA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/1/2017 8:58 PM
Post #40900 - In reply to #40890

This is what it looked liked on Friday on forex. Good entry signal after the London open which is always a good trading window.

The default exit needed to be changed to a Reversal exit to highlight the best entry signals. Like Jeff said this isn't a mechanical strategy so probably best to confirm with other information...charlie




[Edited by Charlie F. on 4/1/2017 9:01 PM]

Attached file : Snap3.jpg (215KB - 549 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5248

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/3/2017 11:10 AM
Post #40902 - In reply to #40890

We found that there were a couple changes that were missed in the final SqueezeTrader release, like the dot sizes. We'll post a fix for it very soon.
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100010010010025
Posts: 1327

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/3/2017 11:24 AM
Post #40903 - In reply to #40902

Barry:

Thanks very much!

Tom Helget
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5248

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/4/2017 3:59 PM
Post #40905 - In reply to #40903

PR2G is now available with the fix.
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100010010010025
Posts: 1327

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/4/2017 4:05 PM
Post #40907 - In reply to #40905

Barry:

Thanks so much for the quick response time.

Tom Helget
^ Top
Eric Severance

New User

Posts: 4

Joined: 1/30/2007
Location: Incline Village, NV

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/4/2017 8:18 PM
Post #40908 - In reply to #40900

Hi Charlie

Interesting post, and suggestion (to change the exit), thank you. Were you using the Classic or the KB Strategy?

Thanks
Eric Severance
^ Top
Charlie F.

Regular
2525
Posts: 50

Joined: 11/26/2003
Location: Chester, CA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/5/2017 11:25 AM
Post #40910 - In reply to #40908

Eric, that was the KB Squeeze RT. Best use in FX seems to be to confirm other entry signals...charlie
^ Top
Wynn

Member
25
Posts: 36

Joined: 12/7/2011
Location: Port Orange, FL

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 4/23/2017 12:44 PM
Post #40953 - In reply to #40890

Tom.
If you'll go into the KB Squeeze Indicator and change the color on the "Squeeze OFF" from the standard dark green to a bright green it will make a big difference. The green dots show up much better.

Hope this helps,

Wynn
^ Top
NormanH

Member

Posts: 19

Joined: 11/23/2011
Location: Richmond VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 5/12/2017 7:55 PM
Post #41032 - In reply to #40953

Wynn, love your suggestion. I actually changed the dots for "Squeeze Off" to gray. Now I have absolutely no problem seeing the "Squeeze On" with the bright red dots.

[Edited by NormanH on 5/17/2017 9:43 AM]

^ Top
FFYFE

Regular
2525
Posts: 52

Joined: 12/24/2003
Location: Weymouth, MA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 5/16/2017 12:24 PM
Post #41040 - In reply to #40890

On the chart of the Australian/US Dollar - the bars are blue and red. I had a computer failure this weekend. I had a moving average that changed from blue to red.- I can't get it back - what do I need to do?

Thank you
^ Top
FFYFE

Regular
2525
Posts: 52

Joined: 12/24/2003
Location: Weymouth, MA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: I'll Show You Mine If You Will Show Me Yours
Posted : 5/16/2017 2:52 PM
Post #41044 - In reply to #40890

Does anyone have Ryan Olson's Rhino?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.