OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader 2017 Upgrade Forums
Plug-ins for OmniTrader
IT2 Confusion
Last Activity 11/25/2018 3:46 PM
24 replies, 2609 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/29/2017 9:26 PM
Post #42391

Support:

OK, got the new IT2 Swing Edition Module.

Loaded it up; and looked at the signals generated via the new IT2 OmniScan.

And then was greatly surprised at the new trading signals that were generated with the IT2 Swing Strategy.

Here is an example on RTIX:




Note that we are in a downtrend as noted by the central dotted red recent IT Trend Line. Yet we are getting a Buy signal. Now I haven't made any changes to the canned strategy. But the question here is - is that even possible? Can valid buy signals be generated in a downtrend? I would expect sell signals in a downtrend but not buy signals.

And this was not just a fluke on RTIX. It was also true on new signals on AIZ, WCG and CNHI.

So, what is going on here that I don't understand?

As always, thanks for your consideration!

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/29/2017 9:31 PM]

Attached file : IT2 Swing Strategy Firing a Long in a Downtrend.PNG (38KB - 588 downloads)

^ Top
Stumpy

Veteran
100100
Posts: 210

Joined: 5/25/2004
Location: Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 6:06 AM
Post #42392 - In reply to #42391

Clearly the documentation says it only fires in the direction of the trend so that is odd Have you done a portfolio simulation yet?
^ Top
Jeff Drake

Veteran
100100252525
Posts: 287

Joined: 11/17/2003
Location: Austin, TX

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 10:35 AM
Post #42393 - In reply to #42391

Hey Tom,
The parameters of the plotted indicators and the system of the strategy are different. Depending on the Major Pivot Sensitivity setting, different trends may be detected. Check the parameters of the system and match them with your plots to see the Intrinsic Trend being detected in the strategy.

Hope that helps,
JD

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 12:14 PM
Post #42395 - In reply to #42393

Jeff:

Yes, I didn't check for correspondence between the System and the Chart Template I had created.

The problem was with the Major Pivot Sense. I had it set to 5 (the default) on my Chart Template. However the three Systems in the IT2 Swing Strategy call for a Major Pivot Sense of 8. Resetting my chart template to that solved all of the issues I mentioned at the start of this thread:





So, Jeff, thanks for the heads-up but I am willing to bet support will be getting a lot of calls on this one!

Tom Helget

SORRY, I HAVE TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO UPLOAD AND DISPLAY THE NEW CHART TEMPLATE TO NO AVAIL.

[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/30/2017 12:34 PM]

Attached file : Ah, that works.PNG (35KB - 498 downloads)

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100100252525
Posts: 2891

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 12:57 PM
Post #42396 - In reply to #42395

Tom please help me understand. Which of those colored lines represents the "trend"? They all look to me to have a negative or barely-flat slope at the time of the signal.
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 1:11 PM
Post #42397 - In reply to #42396

Jim:

The "trend" in the image posted at the top of this thread is represented by the Intrinsic Trend Line which is dotted either green (long) or dotted red (short) line.

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/30/2017 1:12 PM]

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 1:15 PM
Post #42398 - In reply to #42392

Stumpy:

The original Portfolio supplied only went back 500 bars.

For the Portfolio Simulation, however, I adjusted this to have a Fixed Back Test Period from 1/1/2000 to 12/31/16 leaving this year as the Forward Test Period.

Here are the results which I hope will display (after my inability to do so above):




I have highlighted the salient points.

Tom Helget

SORRY - I DON'T KNOW WHY THE IMAGES AREN'T DISPLAYING - YOU CAN EMAIL ME AT THelget@aol.com FOR THE TWO NON-DISPLAYED IMAGES IN THIS THREAD ABOVE.

[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/30/2017 1:22 PM]

Attached file : IT2 Swing Strategy Portfolio Simulation from January 1, 2000.PNG (106KB - 500 downloads)

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100100252525
Posts: 2891

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 1:43 PM
Post #42399 - In reply to #42395

Thanks Tom

So, why is it appropriate for the long entry to appear when both the red and green ITL's have negative slopes?
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 2:44 PM
Post #42401 - In reply to #42399

Jim:

Although I am not sure what you are seeing what I see is the green dotted line in a positive trend (slope) and the red dotted line in a negative trend (slope).

Long trades in ITM2 should only be taken in positive trends as indicated by the dotted green Intrinsic Trend line and not in negative trends as indicated by the dotted red line in the image at the top of this thread.

Hope that clarifies things.....

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/30/2017 2:47 PM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100100252525
Posts: 2891

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 2:56 PM
Post #42402 - In reply to #42401

The green line appears to me to be flat to negative at the time of the signal.

I guess the plugin doesn't distinguish a third intermediate state. Pity.
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/30/2017 3:07 PM
Post #42403 - In reply to #42402

Jim:

Yes, that would appear to be true, but at the time of the signal on the Hard Right Edge the Intrinsic Trend Line has gone negative as shown by the down sloping dotted red line and that is what counts.

Tom Helget
^ Top
Stumpy

Veteran
100100
Posts: 210

Joined: 5/25/2004
Location: Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 5:53 AM
Post #42409 - In reply to #42391

The simulation looks great but I see you have not included the brokerage which is the largest hand break on results.
Down under the best brokerage is $11 in and $11 out so that is $22 per trade how would that effect the results ??
Thanks for the info
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 7:33 AM
Post #42410 - In reply to #42409

Guys:

One more try:





Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/31/2017 7:36 AM]

Attached file : Ah, that works.PNG (35KB - 416 downloads)
Attached file : IT2 Swing Strategy Portfolio Simulation from January 1, 2000.PNG (106KB - 409 downloads)

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100100252525
Posts: 2891

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 7:49 AM
Post #42411 - In reply to #42410

Hi, Tom - and Barry ...

The attached files cannot be displayed when clicked to download, even though the download "count" increments.
^ Top
John J

Veteran
1001002525
Posts: 251

Joined: 8/3/2010
Location: Leduc, AB

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 10:23 AM
Post #42412 - In reply to #42391

Hi,

I would remove the commas in the URL...

https://www.searchenginenews.com/sample/content/are-you-using-commas-in-your-urls-heres-what-you-need-to-know
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 10:36 AM
Post #42413 - In reply to #42412

John J:

Thanks but there are no commas in the URL:

https://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/otforum/get-attachment.asp?attachmentid=8416

https://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/otforum/get-attachment.asp?attachmentid=8417

Tom Helget


[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/31/2017 10:39 AM]

^ Top
John J

Veteran
1001002525
Posts: 251

Joined: 8/3/2010
Location: Leduc, AB

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 11:16 AM
Post #42414 - In reply to #42391

Hi Tom,

Sorry, I meant to say try removing the commas from the FILE names...

The attached screenshots are identical, but the one with a comma can't be opened.

[Edited by John J on 8/31/2017 11:20 AM]

Attached file : Capture,1.JPG (30KB - 88 downloads)
Attached file : Capture.JPG (30KB - 56 downloads)

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 12:12 PM
Post #42415 - In reply to #42414

John J:

The older I get the dumber I get:





AND THERE SHE BLOWS!

Thanks, and how in the world did you ever know that?

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/31/2017 12:16 PM]

Attached file : Ah that works.PNG (35KB - 279 downloads)
Attached file : IT2 Swing Strategy Portfolio Simulation from January 1 2000.PNG (106KB - 272 downloads)

^ Top
John J

Veteran
1001002525
Posts: 251

Joined: 8/3/2010
Location: Leduc, AB

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 12:27 PM
Post #42416 - In reply to #42391

Glad you got it working Tom..!

I have come across similar problems in the past;
https://wiki.umbc.edu/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=1867962

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 12:33 PM
Post #42417 - In reply to #42416

John J:

Over the years I have probably posted over a thousand embedded images and don't think I have had any problems that I can remember.

And, here, in one thread I used commas in two images I wished to post and they failed because of that.

You can be sure I will avoid all special characters from here on out.

Once again thanks - you nailed the problem!

Tom Helget
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 5:39 PM
Post #42419 - In reply to #42409

Stumpy:

I didn't forget about you - $11.00 a trade.

Yeah, it takes a toll:



But the Average Annual ROI is still pretty good!

Haven't you guys ever heard of Interactive Brokers Down Under? Here in the US it is roughly a buck in and a buck out.

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/31/2017 5:42 PM]

Attached file : 11 Bucks A Trade.PNG (263KB - 222 downloads)

^ Top
Stumpy

Veteran
100100
Posts: 210

Joined: 5/25/2004
Location: Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 9:01 PM
Post #42420 - In reply to #42391

Don't think they do the ausie market and also you have the problem of the exchange rate so you have to hedge
^ Top
Stumpy

Veteran
100100
Posts: 210

Joined: 5/25/2004
Location: Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 9:11 PM
Post #42421 - In reply to #42391

Sorry I forgot to thank you for the extra simulation ($11 )
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
1000100100100100
Posts: 1400

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 8/31/2017 9:26 PM
Post #42422 - In reply to #42420

Stumpy:

You're welcome!

And IB is almost everywhere (except maybe the ISS):



While the commission rate ain't great by American Standards it still is roughly half of what you stated ($11 AUD).

Look into it if you are really serious:

https://www.interactivebrokers.com/en/index.php?f=commission&p=stocks1

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 8/31/2017 9:29 PM]

Attached file : Interactive Brokers Australia.PNG (37KB - 185 downloads)

^ Top
Stumpy

Veteran
100100
Posts: 210

Joined: 5/25/2004
Location: Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: IT2 Confusion
Posted : 9/1/2017 2:38 AM
Post #42423 - In reply to #42391

Thanks will do
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.