OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader 2017 Upgrade Forums
ATM
Move ATM method
Last Activity 9/8/2019 11:15 AM
10 replies, 554 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
Buffalo Bill

Legend
100100100
Posts: 305

Joined: 10/3/2006
Location: Stafford, VA

User Profile
 
Subject : Move ATM method
Posted : 9/8/2018 7:36 PM
Post #45349

How do you move an ATM method from one copy of OT to another? Just copying the .its file doesn't seem to work - the receiving version of OT doesn't seem to "see" it
^ Top
mholstius

Veteran
1002525
Posts: 165

Joined: 1/13/2017

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 9/8/2018 8:10 PM
Post #45350 - In reply to #45349

Hi Buffalo,
Be sure to add the .txt on the end of the file too....

xxxxxx.its.txt

I've had no problems moving them between machines - just have to restart OT to let them compile again too.

Mark
^ Top
Buffalo Bill

Legend
100100100
Posts: 305

Joined: 10/3/2006
Location: Stafford, VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 9/9/2018 7:38 AM
Post #45351 - In reply to #45350

Mark

I copied an ATM method - methodxyz.its.txt - into the OT2018/ATM folder and restarted OT. Still not showing up when I click "ATM" button in OT. That is the right folder?
^ Top
LSJ

Legend
100100100100
Posts: 417

Joined: 8/17/2006
Location: Citrus Springs, FL

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 9/9/2018 8:05 AM
Post #45352 - In reply to #45349

I haven't tried it yet but wonder if you open IDE and do a build all if it would help.

I have two other computers I sync and I copy the entire ATM folder and it has worked.
^ Top
Buffalo Bill

Legend
100100100
Posts: 305

Joined: 10/3/2006
Location: Stafford, VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 9/9/2018 9:17 AM
Post #45353 - In reply to #45352

Larry

yea I tried that - edit omnilang - compile. Everything compiles fine, still not showing. Hmmm
^ Top
mholstius

Veteran
1002525
Posts: 165

Joined: 1/13/2017

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 9/9/2018 11:14 AM
Post #45354 - In reply to #45353

Hmmm
No clue. I do that on a regular basis and no problems.
Is the file corrupt? Does it still work on the original OT ATM?
Mark
^ Top
Buffalo Bill

Legend
100100100
Posts: 305

Joined: 10/3/2006
Location: Stafford, VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 9/9/2018 12:37 PM
Post #45355 - In reply to #45354

ok finally worked. Not sure why I had to restart OT 3 times, but hey
^ Top
Keith Parsons

Regular
2525
Posts: 66

Joined: 6/28/2009
Location: Durban, South Africa

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 12/19/2018 6:35 AM
Post #45838 - In reply to #45355

Good day all,
I wanted to copy its from one PC to another.

I followed exactly what Mark suggested + LSJ + 3 * restarts as per Buffalo action.Unfortunately "no luck" Thereafter entered manually.

In ending sure appreciate all the posts / support from the amazing forum groups throughout 2018. Thank u all very much.

Merry Xmas and of course Good Health

Regards,
^ Top
mholstius

Veteran
1002525
Posts: 165

Joined: 1/13/2017

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 12/19/2018 7:25 AM
Post #45839 - In reply to #45838

Good morning Keith,
I think I remember Ed saying that they improved OT2019 so that it only compiled “necessary”(?) files when it opened to save time.
This is just a guess, but maybe it doesn’t know that the copied file is there and thus doesn’t compile it?
If so, maybe this would work when starting OT after copying the file;



Just a guess - maybe Barry can weigh in on this?

Merry Christmas,
Mark


[Edited by mholstius on 12/19/2018 7:26 AM]

Attached file : compile.png (52KB - 177 downloads)

^ Top
Keith Parsons

Regular
2525
Posts: 66

Joined: 6/28/2009
Location: Durban, South Africa

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 12/19/2018 8:51 AM
Post #45840 - In reply to #45349

Hi Mark,
Thank u for this - unfortunately it did not work.

However and in a different PC - I had recently noted a small problem. Actioned your above suggestion and immediately noted the cause. So for my future "check lists" this is one procedure I will do.

Regards,


^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
5000500100
Posts: 5603

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Move ATM method
Posted : 12/19/2018 9:28 AM
Post #45842 - In reply to #45838

The ATM method files are in the OT201#/ATM folder, that should be all you need if you just want the method. Of course if it uses an OmniLanguage you'll need those files as well.

If you don't have the same strategies that the method uses on the destination machine, you'll want to copy those too.

OT2019 will compile methods on startup if it detects something new.

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.