OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Upgrade Forums
ATM
ATM RS Boost
Last Activity 4/21/2021 9:48 AM
80 replies, 2899 viewings

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4
Now viewing page 2 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/9/2021 9:15 PM
Post #48052 - In reply to #48051

James:

I am truly sorry to hear that.

But I have one other suggestion that I don't think Barry touched on depending on the answer to the following question.

When you examine your Equity Trades Report in the Portfolio Simulation do you ever see trades being taken in the High Flyers Market State like I have outlined below?:



They may not appear often and a High Flyer trade certainly didn't present today.

Thanks,

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 4/9/2021 9:16 PM]

Attached file : Scoping Out High Flyers.jpg (277KB - 521 downloads)

^ Top
JEM

Member
25
Posts: 35

Joined: 1/28/2007
Location: victoria bc

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/10/2021 12:33 PM
Post #48058 - In reply to #48052

Tom,
I have similar Trades 03/20/20 GNMK High Flyers and 03/24/20 WTRH high flyers but none of the other high flyers show.
Most of the Steady Gains and Nasdaq Market State trades are there.

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/10/2021 1:32 PM
Post #48059 - In reply to #48058

JEM:

Well, I have to admit I didn't expect that.

So, what I am now going to suggest may sound a bit radical, but I had a "similar" problem about a month ago. It is documented here:

https://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/proforum/thread-view.asp?threadid=2227&start=26&posts=38

Basically I had to reinstall my OmniData in order to get the result I was trying to achieve. It took a while but it did the trick. The reason I think this might help you too is because you are apparently getting trades from all three Market States of ATM RS Boost but it might be that you don't have enough capital in you account to make some of the purchases. And that might be because sometime in the past, based on faulty data, you didn't execute a trade as well as possible.

So, here is a little summary of my experience. First after you downloaded the OmniData/OmniScan application at:

https://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/OmniData/index.asp

crank it up and completely uninstall OmniData. This was based on Jim Dean's advice and it worked just fine:



Restart your computer and crank up the OmniData application once again and install OmniData. This takes a while and you are really not done even now. You have to start OT up and it will fill in the data that the application doesn't supply. You will also be asked to reinstall all of your OmniScans.

You are in luck as OmniData has been recently updated:



Finally should you really even try this since it will probably take the better part of a couple of hours? Well, that is a personal matter. As Jim Dean says above you might have to do it every three years or so. Barry says most likely never unless there is a problem. In my case I honestly think I had reinstalled OmniData no more than a couple of years before I recently did it again.

So, before you embark on any of this ask yourself how current you think your OmniData might be. If it has been several years other than loosing some time (and being really anxious while doing so) you really have nothing to loose and everything to gain.

On the other hand I know the Nirvana Folks are real anxious to get you up and running with ATM RS Boost and maybe someone on Monday can take control of your computer and discover something I haven't though of. Nevertheless you might want to keep the OmniData reinstallation idea in mind in case you require it in the future.

Tom Helget


[Edited by EYEGUY on 4/10/2021 1:34 PM]

Attached file : Completely Uninstall OmniData.jpg (55KB - 479 downloads)
Attached file : How Often Should OmniData Be Reinstalled.jpg (141KB - 483 downloads)

^ Top
mholstius

Veteran
1002525
Posts: 172

Joined: 1/13/2017

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/10/2021 1:39 PM
Post #48060 - In reply to #48058

First...
Tom, that was a really nice recap of how to set things up you posted yesterday. Thanks

Also, nice recap on Omnidata that you just posted as I was writing this.

And then FWIW: I don't have a clue if this observation has anything to do with anything, but I noticed that Shortlandj was using the British Pound as currency... can the exchange rate make a difference somehow in the size of some trades over time?

Just a stab in the dark,
Mark

[Edited by mholstius on 4/10/2021 1:43 PM]

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/10/2021 1:56 PM
Post #48061 - In reply to #48060

Mark:

You sure have a sharp eye!

Shortlandj's Final Equity shown near the start of this thread was 4,273,968 POUNDS.

At the current conversion rate to dollars:



That would be $5,855,336 a little off of my $6,495,274 but the conversion rate was varying every day for the little over 10 year period of the Portfolio Simulation.

And it might also be JEM's problem as well as I see he resides in British Columbia.

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 4/10/2021 2:01 PM]

Attached file : Pound to Dollar Conversion Rate.jpg (7KB - 471 downloads)

^ Top
JEM

Member
25
Posts: 35

Joined: 1/28/2007
Location: victoria bc

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/11/2021 12:48 PM
Post #48063 - In reply to #48052

Good Morning All,

Tom,

I performed a complete uninstall/install yesterday. I think it all worked perfectly - or at best I did not get any messages that I was messing up.

ATM RS Boost profile was missing so I reinstalled it and went through the routine of setting it up BUT right clicking on Focus list does not offer the opportunity of selecting 'set as dynamic scan'. This option was available before the uninstall/install operation.

Any ideas ?

I will keep trying but any of your broad knowledge will be much appreciated

Jim

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/11/2021 1:15 PM
Post #48064 - In reply to #48063

Jim:

The only thing I can think of is to make sure you have enabled the ATM RS Boost OmniScan in the Profile and then, in ITS Focus List, right-clicking "Set as Dynamic Scan". Since you reinstalled ATM RS Boost you might just want to Download your CD Keys just to make sure something didn't get messed up there.

Also did you see the observation Mark Holstius made about another user who was having problems using Pounds as his base currency instead of the USD? I noted that you were in British Columbia and also may not be using the USD as your currency.

If all this doesn't help please get on to the Nirvana Folks on Monday - they can remotely take control of your computer and set you straight. I know because they have done so several times in the past for me and some of my friends.

Tom Helget




^ Top
JEM

Member
25
Posts: 35

Joined: 1/28/2007
Location: victoria bc

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/11/2021 1:59 PM
Post #48065 - In reply to #48064

Thanks for your help Tom,
I still have the problem so off to Support on Monday.
I did notice the pounds sterling issue you brought up but since he started with the same amount of pounds as you and others did but in US dollars, I felt the % outcome should be the same.
Also in my case I am using US$.
cheers
Jim
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/11/2021 2:05 PM
Post #48066 - In reply to #48065

Jim:

I am so sorry I wasn't able to bring you to a happy resolution.

As far as the different currencies go remember that the conversion rate varies from day to day and so you might be able to buy more shares one day, fewer another and maybe even lose on your exit even if the stock has gone up because your currency has gone down relative to the USD and now is worth less.

Tom Helget
^ Top
JEM

Member
25
Posts: 35

Joined: 1/28/2007
Location: victoria bc

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/11/2021 2:09 PM
Post #48067 - In reply to #48066

very true
^ Top
Shortlandj

Member
25
Posts: 38

Joined: 12/2/2005
Location: UK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 7:16 AM
Post #48072 - In reply to #48014

Tom and Mark, thanks very much for your suggestions and guides, it is appreciated.

Barry, I checked all the data settings you suggested and all looks correct. Over the weekend I reinstalled OT2021 and Omnidata but the results are the same as before.

I am showing HighFlyers trades at the end of the trade report but the Avg Ann ROI us still showing as 45%.

I don't believe it is a currency issue as I have always been able to match the equity curves in the past..

[Edited by Shortlandj on 4/12/2021 7:18 AM]

Attached file : Port Sim.jpg (447KB - 23 downloads)
Attached file : Trades Report.jpg (464KB - 25 downloads)

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 9:26 AM
Post #48076 - In reply to #48072

Shortlandj:

You are correct they don't match in the percentage comparions:



And it would appear that you are missing a High Flyer and NASDAQ 100 Open Position Trade (ASMB and INTC) in your Equity Trades Report:



Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 4/12/2021 9:28 AM]

Attached file : ATM 4 Boost Portfolio Simulation Comparison.jpg (202KB - 329 downloads)
Attached file : Open Positions Comparison.jpg (227KB - 330 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
50001000252525
Posts: 6095
Online

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 11:26 AM
Post #48077 - In reply to #48076

The currency doesn't make a difference. The numbers are identical either way.

This difference is most likely due to data changes. The generated results are from over 10 years of data for about 2178 stocks. With each passing day, more & more symbols receive historical data fixes or adjusted splits, like GRPN for example. All it takes is one symbol to make a drastic difference in results especially if that was a stock that traded early on in the Port Sim results.

^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 12:08 PM
Post #48078 - In reply to #48077

Shortlandj:

A thought occurred to me mulling over Barry's comments.

One of the Criteria Rules for the ATM RS Boost OmniScan specifies a Close less than 10:



But $10 or 10 pounds? How does that criteria show up in your OmniScan?

If it isn't in pounds you might want to adjust it by dividing by the current exchange rate (1.37) to get 7.30 pounds and see if that makes the difference. You just might have been trading some Boost securities that were over the mark and that led to the "butterfly" effect Barry described.

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 4/12/2021 12:10 PM]

Attached file : ATM RS Boost OmniScan Criteria Rules.jpg (17KB - 292 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
50001000252525
Posts: 6095
Online

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 12:21 PM
Post #48079 - In reply to #48078

Tom, the results are identical (for scans, analysis, port sim, etc) for different currencies.
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 12:24 PM
Post #48080 - In reply to #48079

Barry:

Thanks - just hypothecating since I am not an international user.

Tom Helget
^ Top
JEM

Member
25
Posts: 35

Joined: 1/28/2007
Location: victoria bc

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 2:51 PM
Post #48082 - In reply to #48077

Barry et All

I am repeating myself but think there maybe a clue in this situation

My results are identical to Zelands Suggesting something we have activated or not activated.

I have tried everything that I know of and have benefitted from all of the forum posting especially those of Toms' but still have the same problem
^ Top
vann day

New User

Posts: 2

Joined: 12/26/2003

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 3:35 PM
Post #48083 - In reply to #48014

I am also getting the same results as shortlandj.
ROI of 45%.

Vann
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 3:51 PM
Post #48084 - In reply to #48083

JEM and Vann:

That is indeed very curious!

Although Barry says it has no influence I am just curious to know what currencies you fellows are employing in your OmniTrader.

Thanks,

Tom Helget
^ Top
vann day

New User

Posts: 2

Joined: 12/26/2003

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 4:01 PM
Post #48085 - In reply to #48014

US $
^ Top
JEM

Member
25
Posts: 35

Joined: 1/28/2007
Location: victoria bc

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 5:18 PM
Post #48086 - In reply to #48084

US$
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 5:22 PM
Post #48087 - In reply to #48086

Guys:

Thanks for your replies - another theory out the window!

Sorry I can't think of anything else at the moment to be of help to you both.

Tom Helget
^ Top
mholstius

Veteran
1002525
Posts: 172

Joined: 1/13/2017

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 7:14 PM
Post #48088 - In reply to #48087

Good evening all...
My machines are tied up with my current project on futures, so I'm not commenting from experience with ATM RS Boost - however here's another shot in the dark.

Do you have enough data loaded prior to 1/1/2010 to account for the warm up periods necessary for whatever calculations are being done?

May I suggest that you load data starting at 1/1/2008 or earlier (just to have a decent pad) and then run the simulation starting on 1/1/2010 as you've been doing?

Like I said - a shot in the dark.

If it's the answer, all the credit goes to Jim Dean. He's been advising us about that for a very long time...

Mark
^ Top
JEM

Member
25
Posts: 35

Joined: 1/28/2007
Location: victoria bc

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 7:36 PM
Post #48089 - In reply to #48088

Good suggestion Mark
I forget how todo so
Sorry
^ Top
EYEGUY

Icon
100050025
Posts: 1542

Joined: 12/12/2003
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: ATM RS Boost
Posted : 4/12/2021 7:41 PM
Post #48090 - In reply to #48089

Mark and JEM:

The ATM RS Boost To Do List has these fixed settings in the Profile provided:



And Edit...Data Periods gives the following:



That is enough to get any security that goes back that far (like INTC) to the day before my birthday in May, 2009.

Tom Helget

[Edited by EYEGUY on 4/12/2021 7:43 PM]

Attached file : ATM RS Boost To Do List.jpg (79KB - 201 downloads)
Attached file : ATM RS Boost Data Periods.jpg (25KB - 201 downloads)

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4
Now viewing page 2 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.