OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Archives
OmniTrader 2008 Technical Support
Trendline Alerts problem report
Last Activity 3/29/2015 8:54 AM
19 replies, 935 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
chall

Member
25
Posts: 46

Joined: 10/14/2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM

User Profile
 
Subject : Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 12/20/2007 4:18 PM
Post #13615

The Alerts are firing for just about any price (as far as I can tell) - certainly no crossover of price and the trendline.

This is the OT 2008 Prerelease 2D I'm running.

Chris

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5242

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 12/20/2007 4:45 PM
Post #13616 - In reply to #13615

Chris,

To which alerts are you referring? All New Signals, New Signals, Trendline Alerts, etc?
^ Top
chall

Member
25
Posts: 46

Joined: 10/14/2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 12/20/2007 4:50 PM
Post #13617 - In reply to #13615

Trendline Alerts - as stated.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5242

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 12/21/2007 11:30 AM
Post #13622 - In reply to #13617

I tested the Trendline Alert in an end of day Profile & it seems to be working normally. I had some that fired & some that did not. All were correct. Can you try this in a new Profile? Are you in an end of day Profile?
^ Top
chall

Member
25
Posts: 46

Joined: 10/14/2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 12/21/2007 11:50 AM
Post #13623 - In reply to #13615

This is an end of day profile and I'm using metastock user data - have you tested this vs easy data?

This was a new install to OT 2008, but I can setup a new profile if you wish.

Chris
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5242

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 12/21/2007 12:11 PM
Post #13624 - In reply to #13623

I tested it with OmniData. I'll need some time to try it with Metastock data. But yes, let me know if a new Profile makes any difference please.
^ Top
chall

Member
25
Posts: 46

Joined: 10/14/2004
Location: Albuquerque, NM

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 12/21/2007 12:44 PM
Post #13625 - In reply to #13624

OK - I'm stupid. I created a test profile and took a little more care in creating the trendline alert. NOW, I notice that it defaults to "price <=" (which isn't what I ASSUMED).

FWIW - It would be nice if the program noticed when drawing a trendline alert that if the current price was below the resistance line the alert would default to "price >=" and if it was above the support line, then "price <=" would default.

Sorry for the confusion.

Thanks!

^ Top
DavidJG

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 9/29/2004
Location: Pine Knoll Shores North Carolina

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/22/2012 8:41 AM
Post #25681 - In reply to #13615

Attention Barry
I have OT 2011 and cannot make Alerts work,what has been described here,they get logged,but do not fire.
I searched the forum and cannot find if has been or how resolved,called tech support and he placed a request as a bug.
Is this still a problem or you have a suggestion?
thanks
David
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5242

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/23/2012 10:38 AM
Post #25688 - In reply to #25681

There were several bugs that got fixed regarding alerts in OT2012. What alert(s) are you trying to use? In EOD or Realtime? What is your data feed?
^ Top
DavidJG

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 9/29/2004
Location: Pine Knoll Shores North Carolina

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/23/2012 11:55 AM
Post #25696 - In reply to #13615

EOD
Omnidata
^ Top
DavidJG

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 9/29/2004
Location: Pine Knoll Shores North Carolina

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/23/2012 12:04 PM
Post #25697 - In reply to #13615

I should clarify
OT 2011
version 4C
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5242

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/23/2012 12:18 PM
Post #25698 - In reply to #25697

Trendline alerts?
^ Top
DavidJG

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 9/29/2004
Location: Pine Knoll Shores North Carolina

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/23/2012 1:05 PM
Post #25699 - In reply to #13615

neither trendlines or trigger values
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5242

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/23/2012 2:33 PM
Post #25703 - In reply to #25699

The value alerts is a known issue (alerts where you manually type in the value. These are fixed in OT2012. Trendline alerts are working for my OT2011 in the current 4F release, so you might try running your updater.
^ Top
DavidJG

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 9/29/2004
Location: Pine Knoll Shores North Carolina

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/23/2012 2:41 PM
Post #25704 - In reply to #13615

will
thank you Barry
^ Top
DavidJG

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 9/29/2004
Location: Pine Knoll Shores North Carolina

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/23/2012 8:50 PM
Post #25712 - In reply to #13615

Hi Barry
no luck
drew lines with alerts below or above, no signals triggered
May have to wait for tech support see if they can work something out.
This year did not want to upgrade to OT 12 but may have.
thank you for your time
David


[Edited by DavidJG on 1/24/2012 8:27 AM]

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5242

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/24/2012 9:53 AM
Post #25714 - In reply to #25712

Can you give me a step by step? As I understand it...

1. You have an EOD stock chart open with current data.
2. You draw a Trendline Alert above or below current price.
3. You run the ToDo List the next day to download data & run analysis.
4. The new data downloaded has a new bar that crosses the Trendline Alert & does not fire.

Is that correct or am I missing something?

^ Top
DavidJG

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 9/29/2004
Location: Pine Knoll Shores North Carolina

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/24/2012 12:11 PM
Post #25715 - In reply to #13615

you got it

BUT

the new twist is

today I tried again and
DID FIRE

same data as yesterday evening!!!!!!

will try tonite again
David
^ Top
DavidJG

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 9/29/2004
Location: Pine Knoll Shores North Carolina

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/25/2012 5:29 PM
Post #25716 - In reply to #13615

Hi Barry

trendline alerts work just fine.
thank you
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010025
Posts: 5242

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Trendline Alerts problem report
Posted : 1/26/2012 10:03 AM
Post #25717 - In reply to #25716

Good to hear, thanks for the update.
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.