OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader 2017 Upgrade Forums
MAC User Forum
Mac OS X Users
Last Activity 1/24/2014 11:11 AM
25 replies, 2684 viewings

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
Dr. Rick

New User

Posts: 4

Joined: 8/6/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : Mac OS X Users
Posted : 11/13/2009 12:20 PM
Post #18453

I have not found OT 2008 to be entirely stable running under a fully-patched XPSP3 on VMWare Fusion 2.0.x -- especially the system performance analysis functions.

Are any upgraders running OT 2010 under Fusion? Comments on stability?
^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 11/13/2009 5:29 PM
Post #18458 - In reply to #18453

Dr. Ric,

There seems to be an equal mix of Mac users who are split between using Parallels and VMWare. I'm using Parallels but most have said that they have seen excellent results even when running Visual Trader in VMWare which is very DirectX and graphical intensive.

But in all cases that I can remember they are all using more current versions of 'N's software, but even VT ran well on VMWare Fusion 2.0. Do you have your VMware settings set to favor your Virtual Machine performance, multiple processors, max ram ect ?

If your running Boot Camp too it might be interesting to run OT from that a few days in a row to see if its an 'N' problem or a virtualization issue.

Hope this is of some help.

Bruce H
^ Top
DavidJG

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 9/29/2004
Location: Pine Knoll Shores North Carolina

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 11/18/2009 3:40 PM
Post #18580 - In reply to #18453

For users of MAC, first I am not a Mac user and not sure is OK to post a commercial link on our site.
I receive notices from this vendor on specials and today have this for a discounted Fusion that I believe is used by MAC users.

http://www.newegg.com

hope is of help

[Edited by DavidJG on 11/18/2009 3:43 PM]

^ Top
Ryan Olson

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 10/9/2006
Location: Austin

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 11/25/2009 1:07 PM
Post #18738 - In reply to #18453


All,

I am also an avid Mac user and have one sitting next to me all day long. I currently have OT Pro 09 on VMWare 2.0.4 running XP Pro and I haven't had any problems in use. I am installing 2010 and I will spend some time to see if there are issues that I can find.
^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 11/27/2009 9:28 AM
Post #18762 - In reply to #18738

Hi Ryan,

I'm working with Parallels 5.0 and have no problems whatsoever running the 'N' product line. In fact after upgrading to the recent 5.0 version I can now run OT & VT at the same time without a hitch.

The Parallels 5.0 upgrade was so significant in speed and performance that it actually gives the feel of running everything on new hardware.

Bruce H
^ Top
Ryan Olson

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 10/9/2006
Location: Austin

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 11/27/2009 9:42 AM
Post #18763 - In reply to #18453


That's great to hear. After starting the Apple thread I upgraded to VMWare 3 and have been amazed at the speed. I am running 2010, VT5 and SWL with no slowdown or lag. It was a major improvement.
^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 12/1/2009 6:40 PM
Post #18831 - In reply to #18763

Hi Ryan,

What kind of Apple hardware are you using to run the 'N' software on?

Thanks,

Bruce H
^ Top
Ryan Olson

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 10/9/2006
Location: Austin

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 12/4/2009 11:55 AM
Post #18897 - In reply to #18453


Bruce,

I am running on the titanium Macbook Pro.

2.8ghz 8gigs of ram 500g HD rest is stock.
^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 12/6/2009 4:09 PM
Post #18904 - In reply to #18897

Hi Ryan,

I really liked the idea of the HTTP://www.omnitrader.com/omnitrader/support/OT2004/forum/thread-view.asp?threadid=4632 forum is there any reason its frozen? I'd like to post a question to other Mac & 'N' users.

Thanks,

Bruce H
^ Top
Ryan Olson

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 10/9/2006
Location: Austin

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 12/7/2009 7:21 AM
Post #18905 - In reply to #18453


Bruce,

I froze this thread because it was more of a guideline that I didn't want to be over looked. However, if you would like to create a thread to discuss any of the items please just click post at the top left on the thread page to start one up.
^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 12/7/2009 9:35 AM
Post #18906 - In reply to #18905

Hi Ryan,

Oh, okay I see where your at now.

Thanks,

Bruce H
^ Top
DanB

Member
25
Posts: 28

Joined: 12/12/2009
Location: UK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 1/27/2010 9:44 AM
Post #19446 - In reply to #18762

Hi,

I recently updated to Parallels 5.0 and whilst OT2010 is running well, VT 5.0 isn't. It just hangs and slows everything up. I was wondering what settings you have on your machine to enable VT to run so smoothly? VT won't connect to Omnidata now either..

I run a Macbook Pro 2.33 Gig with 3 gigs of ram. It was working fine before I upgraded Parallels.

Thanks..

Dan
^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 1/27/2010 12:31 PM
Post #19455 - In reply to #19446

Hi DanB,

That was then………. This is now…. Sorry to report that I have had the same exact problems as you have noted after I updated to the latest build, OT is good VT is crippled prior to that it was superb! One thing that I'd like to know is if your running Parallels accessing a Boot Camp partition, or if your just running a 'Virtual Windows Machine'?

In my case I'm accessing a Boot Camp partition and when I boot directly into Boot Camp all of the problems you mention went away, so its reasonable to deduce that its a Parallels issue.

One thing you can do is go to the Parallels menu bar to the Help topic, click on it and on the drop down menu is a selection to 'Report a Problem' when you do this a dialog pops up with a text box asking you to report what you were doing when the problem occurred. After the report is populated and sent to Parallels you will receive a dialog like the one attached giving you an 'ID' number for tracking purposes.

Actually it's good to know that the issues are happening to more than one of us, when you report the problem mention the name of the software and company 'N' your are using and mention that it is 100% .Net maybe this will lead them into a area to explore for a possible fix. I have not mentioned the software type as of yet because I didn't know other 'N' users were having a similar problem.

Below is the report I sent to Parallels this morning.

Bruce H


Hi Parallels Support,

I generated a report yesterday right after starting Parallels and after doing so I didn't think that it would offer much information. So today I generated a report after starting Windows which takes a lot longer to boot than it ever has in the past.

On Monday the 25th when I started My Boot Camp with Parallels I got a dialog notice that told me no Windows operating system was detected on the Boot Camp partition and removed 'My Boot Camp Applications' folder from the docking bar, then returned it after a second successful reboot attempt.

If I multitask as I'm booting into Windows things get all screwed up frozen and locked up, so I have to have a 'hands-off' approach while booting into Windows with Parallels for about 5 minutes so it does not interrupt the boot process and interfere with anything.

I have NEVER had such LONG boot times with such OS venerability with Parallels in the past. If I boot directly into Boot Camp none of these symptoms occur.

Hope this helps other troubled Parallels customers experiencing similar issues.

Bruce Hands
Attached file : Parallels report #1.png (30KB - 220 downloads)

^ Top
DanB

Member
25
Posts: 28

Joined: 12/12/2009
Location: UK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 1/27/2010 12:45 PM
Post #19456 - In reply to #18453

Hi Bruce,

Thanks for replying, it isn't just me then.. I run XP virtually, not through Bootcamp, so I can use the Mac side at the same time. From what I've read, you can only boot up in either Mac or PC when using Bootcamp, not both at the same time?

I'll send a support request to Parallels and see what they say. I've been trying out different settings today but lost patience with having to restart all the time. I even started a new Virtual Machine and just installed VT5.0 to see if it would work without any other software but it was still slow. It's a shame, I hope something can be done to fix this..

Cheers,
Dan
^ Top
Ryan Olson

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 10/9/2006
Location: Austin

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 1/27/2010 2:27 PM
Post #19461 - In reply to #18453



All,

I have not tested the paralles as of resent. I am currently using the latest release of VMWare with no issues on a Mac Book Pro 2.53 GHz Intel core duo with total 8 gigs, 4 dedicated to Windows XP.

I will try to get the new paralles and see if we can figure something out.
^ Top
DanB

Member
25
Posts: 28

Joined: 12/12/2009
Location: UK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 1/27/2010 2:34 PM
Post #19462 - In reply to #19461

Hi Ryan,

That would be fantastic! I look forward to your results..

All the best,
Dan
^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 1/27/2010 3:35 PM
Post #19463 - In reply to #18453

Hi DanB & Ryan,

Dan it is interesting to note that you are running a Virtual Machine with Parallels and are experiencing similar issues. As clunky as VT has been for me with the last two upgrades from Parallels I can still access RT data. What seems to occur is that VT continues to loose functionality over time, the more and longer it is used the more the Task Manger shows increased CPU usage and the PF usage at least doubles over time until you can here your cooling fans humming away until the whole system freezes up. I have found its best to shut down VT and restart very hour or so.

Your correct about Boot Camp, if you go that route your Mac becomes only a PC and you have no access to your Mac OS. Regardless of the various 'View' option settings I try the same problems occur.

Ryan,

I 'ASS'ume that your are running Windows in a VMWare virtual machine. The reason I believe so is because my brother runs Parallels on one of his Mac's and VMWare on his other and he was having great difficulty with his VMWare set up. After some tech support suggestions he created a virtual machine in VMWare and he leaves both OS's with apps open for weeks at a time without any issues. Prior to that he was using VMWare with Boot Camp VMWare support STRONGLY recommends using virtual machines with VMWare over Boot Camp partitions.

Below is my latest report emailed to Parallels.

Bruce H


Hello Support,

Looks like there are others using the same software as I am that are experiencing the same lock up freezing and non-performance issues that I have reported with the latest two builds since Parallels 5.0 was introduced. However it appears to be occurring in both Parallels 'Virtual Machines' as well as through Parallels Boot Camp access.

I am going to try and send this report after I have launched the trading software VisualTrader produced by Nirvana Systems.

Nirvana Systems, Inc.
7000 N. MoPac, Suite 425
Austin, TX 78731
(phone) 512-345-2545
(fax) 512-345-4225

A couple of points to note; I only use two software applications on my Windows system other than those offered by the Parallels installation.

1) OmniTrader
2) VisualTrader

Both applications are built by Nirvana Systems, Inc. and thus far other users of the same software maker are experiencing the same issues. 1) OmniTrader runs fine without any problems. 2) VisualTrader is the product that experiences freezing and lock ups AFTER the two latest Parallels builds were updated. The original Parallels 5.0 upgrade ran with VisualTrader better than it ever had.

VisualTrader is 100% .Net programed and uses DirectX heavily maybe this is something to look at. In any event what was once a great operating software on Parallels is sub-par at best for all intent and purpose is just about unusable.

I hope others using the same software set ups will forward you their reports so that it will assist in isolating the problems which will lead to a speedy repair.

Thank you,

Bruce H

^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 1/29/2010 10:37 AM
Post #19488 - In reply to #19461

Hi Ryan,

Could you please post your support email address?

I would like to email you a VT log from this mornings session where I ran into resource hogging and I decided I better reboot VT before the both systems froze up. After I did so the Task Manager showed CPU's and Page Files dropped next to nothing/normal, but I did get the VT error message that sent a VT Log to Nirvana.

I'd like to have you take a look at it to see if you can determine if there might be anything related to running VT on a Boot Camp & Parallels.

Thanks,

Bruce H
BTW I have noted that often when the task manger shows CPU & PF resources maxing out and cooling fans running at max that after I close VT resources go back to normal and I get a VT error message sent to Nirvana.
^ Top
Jet

New User

Posts: 1

Joined: 2/27/2005
Location: Oak Harbor, WA 98277

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 1/29/2010 3:35 PM
Post #19490 - In reply to #18453

I see that I am not alone in not being able to run VT on a Mac. I am trying to run VT 3 (4G) on my iMac. Every time Parallels announces an upgrade, eagerly install it and give VT a try. It is a real Peanuts "Lucy and the football" type thing. This last time was a real heartbreaker because the initial VT window opened and the colors were correctly displayed leading me to believe that this time it would work. The eventual letdown happens, however, and I get the error message: Error 2147217887:Multiple - step OLE DB operation generated errors. check each OLE DB status value if available. No work was done in routine 800 - modMain.bas
The Parallels virtual machine runs everything else including OT without a hitch and in truth, the only reason that I use Parallels is so that I can run the Nirvana programs.
- Walter
^ Top
Ryan Olson

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 10/9/2006
Location: Austin

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 2/1/2010 1:16 PM
Post #19524 - In reply to #19488



Bruce,

My email is SupportA@nirvsys.com. You can send the log and any additional information to that email address.

All,

I know in the past the problem with Parallels was their use of Hypervision. Now I am not 100% sure they still use this but this technology was the emulator between the MAC and PC hardware. It is very good however as many of you know even though you can run Windows native on a Mac now the hardware is still quite different in many cases.

This has caused most of the VisualTrader problems in the past. When the software is unable to determine the hardware it uses generic drivers and VisualTrader will sometimes have problems in this case.
^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 2/3/2010 4:17 PM
Post #19560 - In reply to #18453

Fellow Mac users:

I altered some of the switches in the Parallels 'Virtual Machine Configuration' settings and it made a huge difference in my overall performance and stability today for the first time in several weeks.

Today I left my Mac for 3+ hours with Parallels running my Boot Camp Windows virtually and left VT 5.0 open and connected to RT data feed. The machine was connected to a second monitor and I left ten floating charts open in a 1 minute time setting.

When I returned my Mac 'woke' from the sleep mode as it would normally do and I checked VT with the second monitor and all ten charts and total functionality was intact with both OSes.

Bottom line, I reduced the hardware access in the virtual machine and things stabled up immediately.

Below are the steps I made changes to everything else is set by default.

Reduced from two to one processor, reduced memory from 50% to 25%, optimized performance for the Mac OS X applications. Below are the tabs and setting changes I made.

Bruce H


1) Virtual Machine Configuration:

General Tab:

Name: name of your Boot Camp or Virtual Machine.

Processors: 1

Main Memory: 25% of Mac total


2) Virtual Machine Configuration:

Options tab:

Check 'x' Enable Adaptive Hypervisior

Leave blank Enable AutoCompress

Check 'x' Tune for Windows speed

Optimize performance for Mac OS X applications

Power consumption Better Performance
^ Top
DanB

Member
25
Posts: 28

Joined: 12/12/2009
Location: UK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 3/17/2010 1:02 PM
Post #19940 - In reply to #18453

Hi...

Parallels have issued an update to Parallels 5 so I thought I would update it and see if VT works again..

It has loaded up and responds to clicking around the screen and opens charts, all be it very slowly, but the data still isn't downloading. I have tried to open the Dow 30 Profile to give it less to do (it currently opens the S&P 500) but it won't do it. I've also stopped the data feed to try and allow it to change profile but it hasn't been able to do that either.

I notice that at the bottom right hand corner of the screen have something called 'Number of Data Events Queued'. Is has risen to 1500 as I write. Does that high number mean that the computer isn't working through VT's commands quickly enough?

Not sure what else to do, apart from getting another computer..!

All the best,

Dan
^ Top
Bruce Hands

Veteran
100
Posts: 118

Joined: 12/25/2003
Location: Butte, MT

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 3/17/2010 8:14 PM
Post #19943 - In reply to #19524

Hi Ryan,

We realize that 'N' can't be asked for tech support from users running virtualization programs for Windows, but I was curious to know if you've ever seen a similar problem reported from a Mac user as DanB has posted above?

Thanks,

Bruce H
^ Top
Ryan Olson

Veteran
100100
Posts: 205

Joined: 10/9/2006
Location: Austin

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 5/7/2010 1:42 PM
Post #20331 - In reply to #19943



I have seen this happen with parrelles althought it was a few versions back. The problem was that parrelles used a generic type of video card driver even though there were valid drivers available. There use to be some confusion with the Apple drivers and the way Windows saw them. I however have not tested this in some time.

Ryan
^ Top
Ken Holmes

Member

Posts: 7

Joined: 3/10/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Mac OS X Users
Posted : 5/7/2010 6:28 PM
Post #20337 - In reply to #18453

I wanted to let everyone know that VT 7.0 and OT 2010 have run flawlessly using VM Ware Fusion and Windows 7. I am using a 15 inch 2.66GHZ, 4 GB Macbook Pro and a 24 inch monitor for the windows side.

Ken
Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.