OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Archives
OmniTrader 2012 Technical Support
Volume Scaling Problem
Last Activity 12/6/2017 3:37 PM
15 replies, 1146 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
Vinay

Legend
1001001001002525
Posts: 471

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 2/11/2012 10:38 PM
Post #25846

When I plot Volume Moving Average (VMA) over the Volume or Volume Heat Indicator (VHI) pane the scaling of VMA Indicator is not proper. In the Chart below you can see that the value of VMA(21) is 2.9 million while the Volume for 10 Feb 2012 is 4.8 million. Logically the VMA line to the extreme right should be BELOW the Volume or VHI lines but on the contrary it is showing above the Volume lines which is improper. Obviously VMA Indicator is using different scaling than the Volume and VHI Indicators.




[Edited by Vinay on 3/28/2012 8:26 AM]

Attached file : Volume Scale.jpg (149KB - 498 downloads)

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
20005001001002525
Posts: 2771

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 2/11/2012 10:54 PM
Post #25847 - In reply to #25846

Try using plotvolume() instead of plot()
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
1001001001002525
Posts: 471

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 2/12/2012 12:37 AM
Post #25848 - In reply to #25846

Thanks Jim for your reply but I have not used OmniLanguage or OmniScript to plot these Indicators. In fact I have very little knowledge about OL & OS. I have plotted the Volume & VMA from the built in library of Indicators & VHI from the Volume Systems plugin.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
20005001001002525
Posts: 2771

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 2/12/2012 7:06 AM
Post #25850 - In reply to #25848

Unfortunately OT has a weakness when it comes to plotting multiple indicators on the same chart. If the two+ indicators have the same bounded scale, like STOC or RSI, then it works fine. But if either indicator has an unbounded scale (ie flexible max &/or min), then the scale for the two will not be the same. See the overlapping different values on the right of your pic.

This happens since OT optimizes the use of vertical space based on the currently-displayed min and max of each indicator, independently. That's a good thing for indic's on a dedicated pane, but messes things up for situations like yours.

This usually can be solved simply using OLang, by creating a custom indicator which simply plots the two canned indicators together.

There have been many feature requests over the years for OT to be given mor intelligence re plotting multiple indic's manually on a common screen.
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
1001001001002525
Posts: 471

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 2/12/2012 9:50 AM
Post #25853 - In reply to #25846

If that is the case then it is a poor reflection on OT. Even other software which costs a fraction of OT can handle these things properly.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
50001001001002525
Posts: 5352

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 2/13/2012 10:00 AM
Post #25861 - In reply to #25853

This is one of those requests that I keep pushing for.
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
1001001001002525
Posts: 471

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 5/1/2013 9:02 AM
Post #28278 - In reply to #25861

Originally written by 291234 on 2/13/2012 9:00 PM

This is one of those requests that I keep pushing for.


Barry ... Will you be kind enough to try once more to get this done? Thanks.

[Edited by Vinay on 5/1/2013 10:33 AM]

^ Top
wolf

Veteran
10025
Posts: 143

Joined: 4/16/2011
Location: Germany

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 5/1/2013 10:29 AM
Post #28281 - In reply to #25846

I would like to know whether the described Problem by VXP will be provided as a correction Version by Nirvana for all existing OT Version (for all OT Versions below 2013 e.g 2012 etc). As I have understood this issue is related to the core product OT .

regards
wolfgang
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
50001001001002525
Posts: 5352

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 5/1/2013 5:32 PM
Post #28286 - In reply to #28281

The issue remains in OT2013 & VT10. I don't know when we will fix the scaling of indicators on top of indicators. And usually new features are not added to older versions of software.
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
1001001001002525
Posts: 471

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 1/14/2014 1:07 AM
Post #30592 - In reply to #25850

Originally written by Jim Dean on 2/12/2012 6:06 PM

Unfortunately OT has a weakness when it comes to plotting multiple indicators on the same chart. If the two+ indicators have the same bounded scale, like STOC or RSI, then it works fine. But if either indicator has an unbounded scale (ie flexible max &/or min), then the scale for the two will not be the same. See the overlapping different values on the right of your pic.

This happens since OT optimizes the use of vertical space based on the currently-displayed min and max of each indicator, independently. That's a good thing for indic's on a dedicated pane, but messes things up for situations like yours.

This usually can be solved simply using OLang, by creating a custom indicator which simply plots the two canned indicators together.

There have been many feature requests over the years for OT to be given mor intelligence re plotting multiple indic's manually on a common screen.



Jim, will you be kind enough to code it for me. I want VMA to be plotted over VHI Indicator with ability to modify the parameters. Thanks in advance.


^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
20005001001002525
Posts: 2771

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 1/14/2014 5:23 AM
Post #30594 - In reply to #30592

This requires OT Pro.

Save code below as an OLang Indic and compile it.
Manually create chart with the VHI indicator showing in a pane
Add the OLang indicator aJDndVolMA to that same pane.

... note ... VHI is a special case ... normally you'd plot it from within the custom indicator, but it is a pain to recreate the color-shading of the VHI from within OLang, so I just took a shortcut here.


#Indicator
'*************************************************************************+
' aJDndVolMA by Jim Dean, 14jan14
'
' Plots VMA on the same scale as V (or VHI which = V)
' To see VHI colors, plot VHI manually on the same pane as this indicator
'*************************************************************************+

#param "VMAperiods", 10

dim VolMA, Lo, Hi as double ' uses double to preserve precision

VolMA = SMA(V,VMAperiods) ' uses Simple MA since not specified

Lo = math.min(VolMA,V)
Hi = math.max(VolMA,V)

setscales(Lo,Hi)

plot("VolMA", VolMA, orange)

return VolMA
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
1001001001002525
Posts: 471

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 1/14/2014 6:21 AM
Post #30595 - In reply to #25846

Jim, Thanks a lot. It does exactly what I wanted. You have been so helpful to all of us. Truly appreciate it.



[Edited by Vinay on 1/14/2014 6:22 AM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
20005001001002525
Posts: 2771

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 1/14/2014 6:27 AM
Post #30596 - In reply to #30594

Happy to help.

This is an example for folks who don't own OT Pro (yet) of how easy it is to do stuff that is outside the scope of native OT capabilities. OT Pro is the best upgrade for your money to the base OT package, since it offers literally infinite possibilities.

This code is a good "template" for combining other things too. The trick is the Lo/Hi/SetScales stuff.

Just set up param's to match those for the desired indicators, define a variable to hold the indicator values (like VolMA), calc the values using internal OT function calls, and plot the results (one plot statement per indicator).

This example does not plot V since I presumed that you wanted to see the pretty VHI colors.

Note - if you try to overlay two indic's on the same scale, make sure their individual scale are "compatible". The routine will automatically display the range as the lowest low to the highest high amongst the two you calc.


[Edited by Jim Dean on 1/14/2014 6:30 AM]

^ Top
Vinay

Legend
1001001001002525
Posts: 471

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 1/14/2014 8:01 AM
Post #30597 - In reply to #25846

Jim, just out of curiosity was it possible to combine the VMA Indicator you provided with the VHI Indicator into a single Indicator with option to modify all the parameters of both VMA & VHI from a single window? If yes then how would you go about coding it? Thanks once again.

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
20005001001002525
Posts: 2771

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 1/14/2014 8:26 AM
Post #30599 - In reply to #30597

VHI, as I mentioned before, does not do any "calculations" at all ... the "output value" of VHI is simply "V".

So, if you want the Indicator to plot "V", WITHOUT THE PRETTY VHI COLORS, just add the line:

plothist("Volume",V,0,blue,2)

right before the other plot command.

BUT, if you want all the VHI colors or something like that to apply to the Volume Histo, that's something more involved ... very doable ... contact me by email about it ... hvacsage at yahoo.com
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
1001001001002525
Posts: 471

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume Scaling Problem
Posted : 1/14/2014 8:53 AM
Post #30602 - In reply to #25846

Thanks Jim. For my needs whatever you coded is enough. What I asked was out of curiosity only.

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.