OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Archives
OmniTrader 2011 Technical Support
Volume filter
Last Activity 12/31/2013 1:06 PM
4 replies, 646 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
wbfister

Member

Posts: 15

Joined: 12/30/2011
Location: Clifton, CO

User Profile
 
Subject : Volume filter
Posted : 3/24/2012 11:54 PM
Post #26194

I am trying to use a minimum average volume filter in my strategy AVG(V,30) >= 200000. I am looking for stocks that have a minimum average volume of 200,000 in past 30 days. It doesn't seem to be working the way I think it should. I would appreciate any insight. Thank you.
^ Top
megabucks

Veteran
100100252525
Posts: 292

Joined: 9/30/2010
Location: uk

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume filter
Posted : 3/25/2012 3:18 AM
Post #26197 - In reply to #26194

Try

Ema(v,30)>200000

You can also find the answer in seminars and also looking at previous made omniscans for examples

Jas
^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100
Posts: 2718

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume filter
Posted : 3/25/2012 6:11 AM
Post #26198 - In reply to #26194

The key word here is "minimum" - that means you need the "LLV" function involved.

This is checks that the volume in the last 30 bars was always above 200,000 shares:
LLV(Volume,30) > 200000

If you truly want the 30-bar AVERAGE to be checked, and if you want the SIMPLE moving average, then this assures that the lowest 30-bar Simple MA value was always above 200000 during the past 30 bars:
LLV( SMA(V,30), 30 ) > 200000

Or, you can substitute "E" for "S" above, to check an exponential MA.

Please note - when you make requests like this it is best to be very clear and very precise how you word them.



[Edited by Jim Dean on 3/25/2012 6:17 AM]

^ Top
wbfister

Member

Posts: 15

Joined: 12/30/2011
Location: Clifton, CO

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume filter
Posted : 3/25/2012 11:56 AM
Post #26203 - In reply to #26194

Thanks guys as always you have solved my problem. I also apologize for not being more specific. Honestly, I didn't really think there would be more than one way to interpret my request. I see now how language can make such a huge impact on how the program interprets your request. Well it's a learning curve, and I have a feeling it is not accomplished overnight.
^ Top
megabucks

Veteran
100100252525
Posts: 292

Joined: 9/30/2010
Location: uk

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Volume filter
Posted : 3/25/2012 12:50 PM
Post #26204 - In reply to #26194

There is a saying....


There is more then one way to skin a cat!
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.