OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Archives
OmniTrader 2012 Technical Support
Adobe Flash Player 11
Last Activity 12/6/2017 3:37 PM
27 replies, 3870 viewings

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
julesrulesny

Elite
500100100100100
Posts: 900

Joined: 8/15/2007
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/7/2012 6:57 PM
Post #26702

It seems the past few OT updates - OT pre-release updates have installed Adobe Flash 9.0 (As I get a message during the install saying something to the effect of "This program requires the installation of Adobe Flash Player 9.0 and will take a few extra minutes for the install"). Most recent update this occured is PR-K.

...

However, after installation of the udpate, if I goto some video hosting website, my computer will then update it to Adobe Flash 11. As most video hosting websites seem to require 11. So I update to Adobe 11, then a new Pre-Release comes out and seems to downgrade to Adobe 9.

What can I do to remedy this? And, why does OT need Adobe Flash Player 9.0 or even 11.0 for that matter??

Is this even an OT issue? Or, a computer issue on my end?

Thanks,
Marc


***Sorry I belive this thread can be moved to Technical Support as it seems more appropriate. I put it in General Discussion accidentally..

[Edited by julesrulesny on 5/7/2012 6:59 PM]

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
5000100100100252525
Posts: 5396

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/8/2012 11:11 AM
Post #26718 - In reply to #26702

I installed Adobe Flash 11 from their website here & when I installed PR2K afterwards, it did not install anything from Adobe. I'm still on version 11.
^ Top
julesrulesny

Elite
500100100100100
Posts: 900

Joined: 8/15/2007
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/8/2012 11:16 AM
Post #26719 - In reply to #26718

Really? Hmmmmm. Don't know what it is then. Weird. Because I'm sure its happened on the past few updates/pre-releases.

However, it does not happen on my Gateway, only my Dell. I run the update , I see a message "Installing Adobe Flash Player 9, this may take a few minutes". And it seems to downgrade from 11 to 9. Anyways, atleast its not an OT problem as it definitely seems to just be a "my computer" problem.

Curious tho, does OT/VT utilize Adobe Flash in anyway?? If so, what for? (As I woulnd't expect them too..)

Anyways again, THANKS Barry! And, thank you for moving it to the proper thread.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
5000100100100252525
Posts: 5396

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/8/2012 12:07 PM
Post #26720 - In reply to #26719

Flash is used for any videos that play off of a website. This includes our Quick Start tutorials & other videos that aren't on cd.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
200050010010010025
Posts: 2831

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/8/2012 12:20 PM
Post #26721 - In reply to #26720

Marc is correct

OT updater will force version 9 when a later Adobe Reader version is installed. This happened for example when I just installed 2K.

Later on, the windows updater for Adobe will "notice" the old version and offer to install the new version (may be a while afterwards).

Then with a later update to OT the seesaw swings back again.

I believe this is happening so that when the full Adobe product is installed on a machine, it does not open that but does open Reader. To solve this, y'all apparently hardcoded a check for the presence of Adobe 9 Reader.

The necessary fix is simple - just provide a "yes no" option instead of auto-installation.

[Edited by Jim Dean on 5/8/2012 12:24 PM]

^ Top
Buffalo Bill

Veteran
1001002525
Posts: 258

Joined: 10/3/2006
Location: Stafford, VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/8/2012 9:40 PM
Post #26728 - In reply to #26721

why not just check for version 9 or LATER. If 9, 10, 11, etc is installed, just move on. Flash is backward compatible so if 11 is installed version 9 stuff will still work
^ Top
julesrulesny

Elite
500100100100100
Posts: 900

Joined: 8/15/2007
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/9/2012 11:27 AM
Post #26734 - In reply to #26728

Many video applications now a days now seem to require 11.. as I noticed if I go to watch a video online, some sites say I need Adobe Flash 11 and I can't watch video unless 11 is installed. If its something I can remedy, that be great b/c I'm not too tech savy with this stuff..especially when it comes to video 'codecs' or players, etc..

And when OT installs the prerelease/update - there's no option to choose. Adobe 9 is installed automatically. Then if I were to watch a video online, I am getting a message stating I need "Adobe 11" installed. And eventually my computer will update it back to 11 then anyways. Then the next PreRelease downgrades it back to 9. No option, it just does it automatically.

It's not critical to trading or my OT but I do watch video lectures online for Math courses so its important for other reasons.. I do have my other computer which so far seem ok.. And my laptop that I only use for internet purposes anyways as well.. So not OT critical.

[Edited by julesrulesny on 5/9/2012 11:33 AM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
200050010010010025
Posts: 2831

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/9/2012 1:30 PM
Post #26736 - In reply to #26734

Barry please respond. I made a suggestion ... is it feasible?
^ Top
Gerry

Veteran
1001002525
Posts: 251

Joined: 12/24/2003
Location: Lewiston, Maine 04240

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/9/2012 4:59 PM
Post #26739 - In reply to #26702

Hi Jules,

Same thing occurs here !



Gerry
^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
200050010010010025
Posts: 2831

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/9/2012 5:13 PM
Post #26740 - In reply to #26739

Barry:

Please respond ...

The necessary fix is simple - just provide a "yes no" option instead of auto-installation. That way you don't need to "keep up with" the most recent version of Reader. If someone knows that they already have Reader installed, post version 9, they can say "no" to the installation and presumably all the Help files will work fine.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
5000100100100252525
Posts: 5396

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/10/2012 10:07 AM
Post #26742 - In reply to #26740

I've reported it. I would think it should be able to see that there's a newer version installed & not even ask to install the older one.
^ Top
julesrulesny

Elite
500100100100100
Posts: 900

Joined: 8/15/2007
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/18/2012 9:10 AM
Post #26784 - In reply to #26742

Just to follow up on this - Yea it doesn't ask.. it just installs it. My OT wasn't opening up this morning, as I was getting a message saying:
"OT Error, quitting". And that was it. It wouldn't open. I ran the update again hoping it would fix the problem. I can open OT now but still having issues (I'll report it in another thread b/c it keeps closing and freezing),.. see attached screenshot for further clarification on installing Adobe 9.

Thanks for reporting it!

Marc

[Edited by julesrulesny on 5/18/2012 9:13 AM]

Attached file : OT Adobe.jpg (33KB - 204 downloads)

^ Top
megabucks

Veteran
100100252525
Posts: 292

Joined: 9/30/2010
Location: uk

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/26/2012 6:11 AM
Post #26793 - In reply to #26702

not sure if this is related

my machine is not taking a very long time to boot up and the issue is related to Abode AIR

trying to resolve it but worse case would be back up all and do complete re install of machine and software grrrrr
^ Top
Buffalo Bill

Veteran
1001002525
Posts: 258

Joined: 10/3/2006
Location: Stafford, VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 5/26/2012 10:41 AM
Post #26794 - In reply to #26742

PR 2L did the same thing - installed Flash 9 even though I have Flash 11 without asking or giving me an option...

F11 is still installed however

[Edited by Buffalo Bill on 5/26/2012 10:44 AM]

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
5000100100100252525
Posts: 5396

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 8/29/2012 12:07 PM
Post #27093 - In reply to #26794

PR3A & above will have a Flash check & will not install Flash 9 if you have it or a later version, like 11, already installed.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
200050010010010025
Posts: 2831

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 8/29/2012 12:10 PM
Post #27095 - In reply to #27093

Great! Thank you!
^ Top
julesrulesny

Elite
500100100100100
Posts: 900

Joined: 8/15/2007
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 8/29/2012 12:43 PM
Post #27096 - In reply to #27093

Excellent. Thanks Barry!!!
^ Top
Buffalo Bill

Veteran
1001002525
Posts: 258

Joined: 10/3/2006
Location: Stafford, VA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 8/29/2012 5:33 PM
Post #27108 - In reply to #27093

Sounds like a lot of good stuff in 3A - when is it expected to be released?
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 479

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 8/30/2012 4:14 AM
Post #27109 - In reply to #26702

As a workaround disconnect internet while updating OmniTrader and nothing will happen to Flash Player.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
5000100100100252525
Posts: 5396

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 8/31/2012 10:09 AM
Post #27116 - In reply to #27108

3A will likely go live on Tuesday, Bill.
^ Top
julesrulesny

Elite
500100100100100
Posts: 900

Joined: 8/15/2007
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 9/5/2012 2:19 PM
Post #27122 - In reply to #27116

3A did not Fix the Adobe Flash Player.. It downgraded me again to Adobe 9.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
5000100100100252525
Posts: 5396

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 9/5/2012 5:04 PM
Post #27130 - In reply to #27122

It's been working for me. Did it prompt you to install Flash 9? Can you try uninstalling Flash 9 & reinstalling PR3A & see if it installs it again?
^ Top
Gerry

Veteran
1001002525
Posts: 251

Joined: 12/24/2003
Location: Lewiston, Maine 04240

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 9/5/2012 5:23 PM
Post #27133 - In reply to #27130

Hi Barry,

Worked fine here !


Gerry
^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
200050010010010025
Posts: 2831

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 9/5/2012 5:23 PM
Post #27134 - In reply to #27130

To test it you need to UPgrade to 11, THEN reinstall OT ... that's the situation that needs to be fixed.

But having said that ... I upgraded to 3a, and I don't have ANY version of Adobe reader installed ... I use FoxIt reader. I was surprised that the install did not force Adobe of ANY type on me.

Kudo's!

[Edited by Jim Dean on 9/5/2012 5:27 PM]

^ Top
julesrulesny

Elite
500100100100100
Posts: 900

Joined: 8/15/2007
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Adobe Flash Player 11
Posted : 9/5/2012 5:38 PM
Post #27135 - In reply to #27130

Ok, I'll try that now.

No, no prompt at all. It just downgraded it to 9.
Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.