OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Archives
OmniTrader 2013 Technical Support
PortSim format is not good in OT2013 vs OT2012
Last Activity 9/16/2017 11:23 AM
5 replies, 1426 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
Steve Luerman

Veteran
10010025
Posts: 228

Joined: 8/19/2005
Location: Boulder, CO

User Profile
 
Subject : PortSim format is not good in OT2013 vs OT2012
Posted : 2/3/2013 10:47 PM
Post #27843

I have a laptop with the Windows 8 "Display" set to "Medium" (for my aging eyes).


With this setting, the Portfolio Simulation display is not good. Here is a snapshot of OT2013, followed by a snapshot in OT2012. Please notice that the formatting of OT2013 display is not as good as the OT2012 display.

OT2013:



OT2012:


Can this be fixed please?
Thanks,
Steve

[Edited by Steve Luerman on 2/3/2013 10:51 PM]

Attached file : 2-3-2013 9-40-13 PM Display settings.png (96KB - 470 downloads)
Attached file : 2-3-2013 9-44-23 PM OT2013.png (110KB - 483 downloads)
Attached file : 2-3-2013 9-35-27 PM OT2012.png (166KB - 479 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
50001001001001002525
Posts: 5464

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: PortSim format is not good in OT2013 vs OT2012
Posted : 2/4/2013 9:56 AM
Post #27846 - In reply to #27843

Excellent, thank you. I've seen this recently & didn't know what was causing it. We'll get it fixed.
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
500
Posts: 503

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: PortSim format is not good in OT2013 vs OT2012
Posted : 7/27/2013 8:42 AM
Post #28617 - In reply to #27843

It appears that OT is not "DPI" aware. The current breed of Full HD laptops where the display is set to Medium (125%) to make the fonts readable, the OT display of charts, dialog boxes goes haywire. In my another laptop which has display of 1280x800 at 96dpi (100%), OT does not show Trade Plan window properly. So at present on both of my laptops OT has some problem displaying its windows.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
50001001001001002525
Posts: 5464

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: PortSim format is not good in OT2013 vs OT2012
Posted : 7/29/2013 9:47 AM
Post #28619 - In reply to #28617

OT has some issues when using 125% dpi. We know about that already, thanks.
^ Top
Steve Luerman

Veteran
10010025
Posts: 228

Joined: 8/19/2005
Location: Boulder, CO

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: PortSim format is not good in OT2013 vs OT2012
Posted : 3/30/2014 8:38 PM
Post #31166 - In reply to #28619

Hi, Barry
I've got a bit more info which may be useful to your team in fixing the problem. But I also no longer need a solution, although others may still need a fix (e.g. Vinay).

When I started this thread, I was running OT2013 in Win8Pro, which had been done as an upgrade from Win7Pro. It was not a "clean" install.

I just completed a "clean" install of Win8Pro, and ugraded it to Win8.1Pro. Along the way, I discovered that the "Change the size of all items" window selected from the "Screen resolution" window was changed. From my investigation, I believe this is a new option introduced in Win8.1Pro.

On the "Change the size of all items" window, there is now an option called "Let me choose the scaling level for all my displays". If you look at my first post in this thread dated Feb 3, 2013, the "Change the size of all items" window did not include that option. In my new installation, selecting that option (which is NOT recommended - see referenced documentation) and then selecting 125% produces the same poorly formated PortSim window as originally reported. But if that option is not selected, and instead, selecting the middle position on the slider (which produces the same scaling as the 125% option), then the PortSim window format is fine, no problems.

Below are a couple of snapshots showing the two choices in Win8.1Pro.

And here are some links to some relevant documentation:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dn528846.aspx
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2900023
And for more, just Google: "windows 8.1 dpi scaling"

Bottom line, Win8.1Pro has provided a solution to this problem.



This choice causes the poorly formatted PortSim display:


This choice produces a properly formatted PortSim display:





[Edited by Steve Luerman on 3/30/2014 8:41 PM]

Attached file : 2014-03-30_19-00-12.png (65KB - 329 downloads)
Attached file : 2014-03-30_18-55-58.png (46KB - 320 downloads)
Attached file : 2014-03-30_18-55-43.png (32KB - 275 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
50001001001001002525
Posts: 5464

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: PortSim format is not good in OT2013 vs OT2012
Posted : 3/31/2014 10:24 AM
Post #31168 - In reply to #31166

Thank you, Steve.
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.