OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Archives
OmniTrader 2013 Technical Support
Strategy Voting Question
Last Activity 9/16/2017 11:23 AM
9 replies, 1295 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
Vinay

Legend
500
Posts: 505

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 5/29/2013 8:33 AM
Post #28392

I am a little confused about the results I get on the Vote-line when Voting Method selected is:

1. Best signal according to Advisor Rating and
2. Best signal according to Strategy Rank.


1. Best signal according to Advisor Rating:

According to OmniTrader help manual:

"Each signal that is generated by a strategy is associated with an Advisor Rating. By using this method, OmniTrader will allow all strategy signals to the Vote Line. In the case where there are multiple signals fired, then the strategy with the highest Advisor Rating will be used for the voted signal. This also means that the exits for that strategy are in effect for the Vote Line trade as well."

Now see the results I get when I select this setting:



In the screenshot above you will notice that two short signals fired by Pro Trending 2008 have not made it to the Vote-Line although no other Strategy were firing any Signal at that point of time nor was any Strategy in-trade. Since Pro Trending 2008 was the only Strategy firing Signal, it should be safe to assume that this has the highest Advisor Rating, so it should make it to Vote-Line. I am also attaching below the screenshots of the Strategy Voting settings used.






[Edited by Vinay on 5/30/2013 12:54 AM]

Attached file : AdvisorVoteLine.jpg (23KB - 551 downloads)
Attached file : Advisor1.jpg (47KB - 554 downloads)
Attached file : Advisor2.jpg (93KB - 572 downloads)

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100100100
Posts: 2903

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 5/29/2013 8:45 AM
Post #28393 - In reply to #28392

None of the trades in the example you showed apply to the situation you quoted. In every case, only ONE strategy fired on a particular bar, so there was no need for OT to do any Advisor-based voting.

Keep in mind that the Advisor voting only occurs if you activate it, AND if there are simultaneous signals from more than one Strat on the same bar. Also, it is an "optimization" kind of activity that has variable results depending on how much history is loaded and what Symbols are in the current Focus List.

Also keep in mind that there is an ENTIRELY DIFFERENT "Advisor Rating Vote" that can optionally be activated within a given Strategy, to sort out whether to take an Entry signal from the Systems that are active in that Strategy. The rating in that case is used to help determine whether to ignore a signal competely (if rating is very low compared to threshold), or, in the case of competing directions (one long one short), it might impact which direction the trade goes.

I hope this helps. It is a very powerful but somewhat confusing area of OT.
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
500
Posts: 505

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 5/29/2013 8:53 AM
Post #28394 - In reply to #28392

2. Best signal according to Strategy Rank.

To quote from OmniTrader help manual again:

"This method is similar to the previous method, but when there are multiple signals fired, it will use the highest ranking strategy as defined on the Performance tab of the Strategy Voting dialog box."

Now see the results I get when I select this setting:





Here only Signals fired by Pro Breakout 2008 are making it to Vote-Line and Signals from other Strategies are not, even though Pro Breakout 2008 (apparently it should be highest ranked) is not firing any Signals. I used the following Strategy Voting settings:




[Edited by Vinay on 5/30/2013 12:55 AM]

Attached file : StratRankVoteLine.jpg (21KB - 490 downloads)
Attached file : StrategyRank1.jpg (46KB - 515 downloads)
Attached file : StrategyRank2.jpg (92KB - 509 downloads)

^ Top
Vinay

Legend
500
Posts: 505

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 5/29/2013 9:02 AM
Post #28396 - In reply to #28392

Jim, you replied even before I could finish my post. Please go through my post again and see if that makes any sense. My point is simple, since no other Strategies were firing why some of the Signals could not make it to Vote-Line, since as you yourself said in these cases Strategy Voting does not come into play.

[Edited by Vinay on 5/29/2013 9:07 AM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100100100
Posts: 2903

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 5/29/2013 9:11 AM
Post #28397 - In reply to #28396

I will look into it ... my PC is otherwise engaged right now. It would help if you would post a snapshot of the Edit > Strategies pane where the Advisor settings have been made.
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
500
Posts: 505

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 5/29/2013 9:24 AM
Post #28398 - In reply to #28392

I have not made any changes there. They are at original settings as provided by Nirvana. Btw I could not grasp how the settings in Strategy can make any difference in this case? Whatever the settings, their effect is reflected below the Vote-Line. What we are discussing here is why the Signals which appears below the Vote-Line are not making it to Vote-Line. Incidentally when I don't select the "Voting Method" to be Advisor Rating or Strategy Rank based then all Signals make it to Vote-Line as is expected.

[Edited by Vinay on 5/29/2013 9:28 AM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Idol
2000500100100100100
Posts: 2903

Joined: 9/21/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 5/29/2013 9:37 AM
Post #28399 - In reply to #28398

Please humor me and post a snapshot of the pane where you are requesting the Advisor Rating control. Thanks.

I'm in a massive process of rebuilding 3 machines right now and it's difficult to get to the bootable backup drive that has all my OT stuff on it.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500050025
Posts: 5548

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 6/4/2013 12:21 PM
Post #28406 - In reply to #28398

The advisor rating method seems to be working correctly for longs, but from what I can tell is broken with short signals. The strategy rank doesn't seem to be working right, like you said. I've reported both issues, thanks.
^ Top
Vinay

Legend
500
Posts: 505

Joined: 12/9/2011
Location: Planet Earth

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 9/30/2013 12:02 PM
Post #28897 - In reply to #28392

We are unable to use "All Strategy Voting" until these bugs are fixed which is a very important feature. Any news on when a fix is likely to be released?
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500050025
Posts: 5548

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Strategy Voting Question
Posted : 9/30/2013 1:59 PM
Post #28898 - In reply to #28394

All Strategy Voting can be used now as it has been for years. What isn't working correctly are the 2 voting methods for Advisor Rating & Strategy Rank. The other voting methods including the default Majority of Longs/Shorts should be fine. I'm not sure when these ranking methods will be fixed, but I reproduced & reported them.
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.