OmniTrader Forum OmniTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Archives
OmniTrader 2014 Technical Support
OmniVest integration
Last Activity 10/7/2017 1:07 AM
13 replies, 1030 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
kmcintyre

Legend
100100100
Posts: 300

Joined: 8/30/2007
Location: Valley Center, CA

User Profile
 
Subject : OmniVest integration
Posted : 11/27/2013 4:01 PM
Post #29249

Happy Thanksgiving Eve!

So I have the OT2014 upgrade installed. I went to Tools | Options | OmniScan and checked "Show OmniVest Account in OmniScan". I ran the ToDo process to update all OmniScan lists.

When I use the Focus List pencil icon to edit the OmniScan lists, I see the OmniVest folder, but there is nothing in it.

Am I doing something wrong? Is this working for others?

Thanks!

Keith

(Also posted on OV forum...)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010010010025
Posts: 5425

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 11/27/2013 4:36 PM
Post #29251 - In reply to #29249

I've seen this behavior as well, so I know there's a bug somewhere, but the feature is working. You might try restarting OT after enabling it.
^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 53

Joined: 8/1/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/1/2014 3:49 PM
Post #33831 - In reply to #29251

In OT 2015 I was able to have Omnivest trades appear the first time I setup the option "show Omnivest Accounts in Omniscan" and also clicked the relevant pencil icons.

Successive re-openings of OT2015 seem to have 'lost' the symbols in the Focus List even though Omniscan 'knows' the number of symbols that should appear.

This behaviour affect both computers running OT2015.





[Edited by John W on 12/1/2014 3:51 PM]

Attached file : OV_Omniscan.png (31KB - 306 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010010010025
Posts: 5425

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/1/2014 4:29 PM
Post #33832 - In reply to #33831

Can you show me the entire OT screenshot please? Are you in a realtime or EOD profile? Is it just the OmniVest lists that aren't working?

Now that I think about it, it may be related to your OmniVest issue you posted about here. Hopefully we should have your OV account issue corrected soon.

^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 53

Joined: 8/1/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/1/2014 9:57 PM
Post #33835 - In reply to #33832

I was in the Stocks EOD profile. Only the OV lists weren't working; the other Omniscan lists worked correctly.

I then remembered you posted on this in detail previously so I browsed to :

http://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/otforum/thread-view.asp?threadid=6429. I used Option 7 on both PC's.

Unfortunately after using the Option 7 choices I now have an Omnivest folder but no Accounts subset on both PC's.

In the OT2015 Omnivest folder the folder is empty.







[Edited by John W on 12/1/2014 9:58 PM]

Attached file : OV2.png (143KB - 299 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010010010025
Posts: 5425

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/2/2014 9:52 AM
Post #33839 - In reply to #33835

Is it working in your OT2014?
^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 53

Joined: 8/1/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/2/2014 5:18 PM
Post #33849 - In reply to #33839

Hi Barry,

No it doesn't work in OT2014. There are two possible reasons.

1. Four of the 5 OV accounts I had in 2014 have been deleted since.
OV 2014 doesn't appear to update the 4 that have been deleted with the newer OV accounts I'm now running.

2. There is one account still the same, but it is called "GX", unfortunately this account has had all sorts of issues lately in this forum. It may be that the account ID has changed as well?

Observations:

A. Neither within the pencil icon using "Update Now" or in OT generally and clicking the ToDo list "Update Omniscan and Subscriptions: All Omniscan Lists" appears to update OT to reflect the latest account names and their data. I've tried this with OT2013,14,and 15 on 2 pc's.

B. I feel I need some brand new initial Accountinfo.xml, ClosingOrders.txt,OpeningOrders.txt and Openpositions.txt files in the OT201x/Omnivest/Account folders.

P.S. I've also tried creating a new EOD profile




[Edited by John W on 12/2/2014 5:20 PM]

Attached file : ov3.png (54KB - 269 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010010010025
Posts: 5425

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/3/2014 10:03 AM
Post #33852 - In reply to #33849

You may have tried this already, but disable the option under Tools/Options/OmniScan & click ok to save it. Close OT. Then browse to the C:\Program Files\Nirvana\OT201# folder & remove the OmniVest folder there. Open OT. Enable the option under Tools/Options/OmniScan & click ok to save it. Wait about 20 seconds. Enter OmniScan & see if there's a difference.

^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 53

Joined: 8/1/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/3/2014 6:04 PM
Post #33865 - In reply to #33852

Barry, I've tried this half a dozen times plus another half a dozen variations on when I delete or reinstate the Omnivest folder without success.

The closest I've been able to come is to recover the C:\Nirvana\OT2014\ Omnivest folder from a backup and drop that folder into both OT2014 and OT2015, plus I recycled another Account from OT2015.

At least 4 of the 5 Accounts that I'm currently trading are now available for selection when using the pencil icon in both OT2014 and OT2015.

When the Accounts are selected, the Focus list for each of the Accounts is still empty, so the issue persists in both OT2014 and OT2015.

I did have some comments on the screen about "elements missing" and "object reference not set to an instance of an object" and I submitted a number of logs every time OT shutdown with an error, perhaps that will indicate something.

The latest OT.logs for 2014 and 2015 are attached.

Attached file : OT2014.log (17KB - 88 downloads)
Attached file : OT2015.log (14KB - 105 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010010010025
Posts: 5425

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/4/2014 11:34 AM
Post #33872 - In reply to #33865

Those errors help & are most likely the cause of the problem. I do not believe there's an issue with your OmniVest accounts. I think it's something related to your custom scans or your OmniData install. How many custom scans do you have? Are you using any? If you aren't able to call our support for troubleshooting, perhaps we could try reinstalling OmniData.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010010010025
Posts: 5425

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/4/2014 12:37 PM
Post #33873 - In reply to #29249

I did just reproduce an issue with the OmniVest lists in OT, & it may be the same issue you have. Make sure you aren't using the Sort Value feature with any OmniVest lists, each OmniVest list should have a blank for the Sort Value (restart OT afterwards if you made changes). It's a bug, & we'll fix it, but the Sort Value should not be accessible for OmniVest lists.
^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 53

Joined: 8/1/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/4/2014 1:56 PM
Post #33874 - In reply to #33873

Thanks Barry. I have no custom scans except 3 provided by Nirvana (e.g. Liquid Stocks). I have no custom scans enabled.
I can confirm that clicking in the blank sort value area with an OV account selected causes an error, but no I have not been using the sort feature with an OV account.

Since you are leaning towards Omnidata being the culprit, I'll uninstall and reinstall it. If no luck I'll contact support.
^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 53

Joined: 8/1/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/6/2014 7:29 PM
Post #33897 - In reply to #33874

I uninstalled and re-installed Omnidata on 2 computers. No luck.

As a plan B I did a clean install of OT 2015 on a third PC. I did not bother running the additional add-ins for Plugins, Updater, Education and Omnidata, I just wanted to see if I could get a link to OV Accounts.
Omnidata did install as part of the setup_OT2015.exe package.

In the OT2015 folders I confirmed no Omnivest folder was present. I then started OT 2015 and it automatically selected the Stocks EOD folder.

I ticked Tools\Options\Omniscan - "Show OV Account in Omniscan"

Waited 20 seconds and the Omnivest folder was visible in the pencil icon. Alas there was no '+' symbol below that to show the Accounts were linked and downloaded from OV.
Back in folders there was C\Program Files\OT2015\Omnivest, but no Accounts or Accounts_Backup sub folders.

Because I did a clean install on a third PC and had the same result as with the other 2 PC's, my current thoughts are it's not an Omnidata issue, over to you...
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Sage
500010010010010025
Posts: 5425

Joined: 1/19/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OmniVest integration
Posted : 12/8/2014 10:32 AM
Post #33901 - In reply to #33897

You did everything right, John, so I'm not sure why it isn't working unless it's related to this bug we found & fixed to be included in the next PR. So let's try it again later this week with the next PR please.
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.