OmniTrader Professional Forum OmniTrader Professional Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Professional Forum
Integrated Brokerage
MBT Navigator update - Desktop Pro?
Last Activity 12/12/2017 1:50 PM
4 replies, 2078 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
julesrulesny

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 498

Joined: 8/28/2009
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : MBT Navigator update - Desktop Pro?
Posted : 9/4/2010 6:55 PM
Post #16962

There have been some major recent updates to Navigator(MBT Desktop) and MBT Desktop Pro that are soon to be released.

Is there a way that I can download MBT Desktop Pro as well as its functionality far exceeds MBT Desktop(Navigator)?

We have two options provided by MBT among other apps - MBT Desktop (Which is used with OT) and MBT Desktop Pro. If I were to download Pro, I would NOT be able to use Integrated Brokerage in OT/VT.. But is there a way around this as they are different applications (MBT Desktop and MBT Desktop Pro)? I would like to use Desktop Pro (separately) as it is better than just MBT Desktop, but unfortunately b/c I have Integrated Brokerage in OT, I am unable to do so as it will overwrite some internal file and IB will no longer work.. So, I am very curious if there is a work around..

MANY THANKS!!!

(Basically I need MBT Desktop to use IB in OT. However, if I download MBT Desktop Pro, it some how cancels out the original Desktop/Navigator and IB in OT will no longer work unless there has been a change - I'm afraid to try it again or else I'll have to go thru Uninstalling/Installing ..)

[Edited by julesrulesny on 9/7/2010 11:08 AM]

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
1000500100100100252525
Posts: 1896

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: MBT Navigator update - Desktop Pro?
Posted : 9/7/2010 1:25 PM
Post #16969 - In reply to #16962

MBT made some big changes early August in their 11.6.0.0 build & we had to account for the changes in PR5C. It's quite possible that MBT Pro works with our Integrated Brokerage since those releases, but I'm not sure as it hasn't been tested.
^ Top
julesrulesny

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 498

Joined: 8/28/2009
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: MBT Navigator update - Desktop Pro?
Posted : 9/7/2010 2:09 PM
Post #16970 - In reply to #16969

I didn't want to test it and have to go through and uninstall, then re-install. last time I did that some files remained and wouldn't work for quite some time. In fact, I think you had to do a WebEx and fix it..

Anyways, I will do it when I get home tonight and let you know!!

This is also why I asked b/c I saw the changes they made - its almost a new platform with so many new additions. I'll let you know either way. Worse comes to worse, I'll just have to remove it and re-install Desktop. Hopefully with no problems or glitches, LOL!
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
1000500100100100252525
Posts: 1896

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: MBT Navigator update - Desktop Pro?
Posted : 9/7/2010 2:31 PM
Post #16971 - In reply to #16970

Sounds good. If you want to be completely safe make a backup of your system before you try it. Then if you have trouble later on you can just restore your system from the backup.
^ Top
julesrulesny

Legend
100100100100252525
Posts: 498

Joined: 8/28/2009
Location: NYC

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: MBT Navigator update - Desktop Pro?
Posted : 9/12/2010 12:58 PM
Post #17039 - In reply to #16971

To follow up - The new updates to OT/VT and the new updates to MBT Navigator didn't change compatibility. OT/VT does NOT work with Desktop Pro. Even after MBT made a huge update to both Pro and Desktop/Navigator.

Since MBT Desktop Pro can not be on the same computer as OT/VT, this is unfortunate b/c we are then stuck using MBT Desktop(navigator). IMO, Desktop(Navigator) Pro is better than Desktop(Navigator).
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.