OmniTrader Professional Forum OmniTrader Professional Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Professional Forum
Integrated Brokerage
GX - Are OV and OT Allowed to Trade Same Account
Last Activity 12/12/2017 1:50 PM
5 replies, 986 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 63

Joined: 6/18/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : GX - Are OV and OT Allowed to Trade Same Account
Posted : 3/6/2014 6:37 AM
Post #22699

Using GX, is it permissible to let OV trade and to also place trades via OT?
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
1000500100100100252525
Posts: 1896

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: GX - Are OV and OT Allowed to Trade Same Accou
Posted : 3/6/2014 4:05 PM
Post #22704 - In reply to #22699

Yes. Just be aware that any trade placed using OT (or any other source) will be displayed as an "Unmanaged Position" within the Trade Processor. And more importantly, make sure the TP option that automatically closes unmanaged trades is disabled.
^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 63

Joined: 6/18/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: GX - Are OV and OT Allowed to Trade Same Accou
Posted : 3/6/2014 4:10 PM
Post #22705 - In reply to #22704

Thanks Barry, that's good advice! John
^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 63

Joined: 6/18/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: GX - Are OV and OT Allowed to Trade Same Accou
Posted : 3/12/2014 1:51 AM
Post #22715 - In reply to #22705

For all those interested in placing their own stops on OV trades I recently discovered an interesting side effect of using OT to trade in the same account as OV.

I did not notice but inadvertently I traded the same underlying symbol using OV and also OT in an option trade.
The OT trade plan on the option required an exit when a virtual trailing stop was hit on the underlying (i.e. the same symbol as OV was trading).

When the virtual stop on the symbol was hit the trade plan closed BOTH the option traded by OT and the underlying stock symbol traded by OV.

It appears to me that it should be possible to attach your own favourite OT stops to your OV trades and have OT exit your OV positions if those stops are hit.

WOW! If this is true then there is no longer a need for those who are a little adventurous to be locked into an OV Market on Open Exit, perhaps profit stops, trailing stops and even broker stops using OT and OV combined are possible!

I realise that OV orders can be placed directly through OT, but for those who prefer to use OV then stops can be added to existing OV trades when the market demands it without being limited to the basic percent Trade Processor stops.

John

^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3128

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: GX - Are OV and OT Allowed to Trade Same Accou
Posted : 3/12/2014 6:57 AM
Post #22718 - In reply to #22715

Hi John

This is interesting - might be a little scary if it's a bug but see my last para for possible explanation. If you were trading the same account from two machines (OT EOD and VT RT, say), and if the two happened to be trading the same symbol but with different strategies, that would mean the FIRST Strat which closed the trade would take out all shares for both. Hmm.

As for interaction with OV - given the fact that TProc is supposed to be hands off - I don't think this would be a good "automated OV" solution.

BUT - if you choose to trade manually without the TProc, then using OT to place and control the OV selected trades would be a good way to go.

My guess is that once the next major version of the TProc hits, it will have more intelligent order processing, which would likely discourage parallel outside control.

But it is an interesting observation. I hope the N folks can clarify why it happens.

Here's a thot - there is a checkbox option in the TPlan which says "close all shares at end of TPlan" or something like that. If you have that checked, you might try running with it UNchecked and see if the side effect double-closeout goes away. I think that when it's unchecked, the TPlan tells the broker to buy/covers specific # shares, but with it checked, the TPlan tells the broker to fully close the trade without being specific as to # shares.

[Edited by Jim Dean on 3/12/2014 7:04 AM]

^ Top
John W

Regular
2525
Posts: 63

Joined: 6/18/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: GX - Are OV and OT Allowed to Trade Same Accou
Posted : 3/12/2014 7:56 AM
Post #22719 - In reply to #22718

Thank Jim,

Your comments are right on the money as usual.

Since you made the effort to think all this through, the least I can do is try out your 'thot'.

I'll use AEP which today has an option trade for OT and a stock trade for OV.


Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.