OmniTrader Professional Forum OmniTrader Professional Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Professional Forum
Feature Requests
Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Last Activity 8/10/2018 4:58 PM
36 replies, 3673 viewings

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
Robert Johnston

Member

Posts: 17

Joined: 8/20/2011
Location: baltimore, md

User Profile
 
Subject : Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 11:32 AM
Post #23576




[Edited by Robert Johnston on 8/22/2015 9:26 AM]

^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 2:39 PM
Post #23577 - In reply to #23576

Robert:

I just don't get it.

Are the red and green lines Aroon Indicators with different periods?:



Tom Helget

[Edited by THOMAS HELGET on 8/21/2015 2:40 PM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3142

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 2:43 PM
Post #23578 - In reply to #23577

I think the snapshot formulae have a big typo ... the red line formula probably should say "since the Lowest Low".
^ Top
Greg

Veteran
100100252525
Posts: 297

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: Mishawaka, IN 46544

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 3:00 PM
Post #23579 - In reply to #23576

Perhaps I am misunderstanding the intent of the post "Would Like
Aroon X Indicator and System" OT does have the Aroon indicator but It doesn't have the system. The system should be relatively straight forward to create with Omnilanguage.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3142

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 5:41 PM
Post #23582 - In reply to #23578

Ahh - to be 17 again.
Well, maybe not! :-)
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 6:40 PM
Post #23583 - In reply to #23582

Robert:

OK, so if I understand you correctly your diagram shows the Aroon Up (in Green) and the Aroon Down (in Red) and you are looking for when they cross using 100 periods:



Is that correct?

Tom Helget


[Edited by THOMAS HELGET on 8/21/2015 6:42 PM]

Attached file : Aroon Up and Down.PNG (48KB - 796 downloads)

^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 7:40 PM
Post #23585 - In reply to #23583

Robert:

OK, here is something for you.

Below are attached an Indicator and a System for the Aroon Cross:




The bottom plot is the standard canned Indicator included with OmniTrader.

The second plot up from the bottom is an Indicator that returns a "1" for an up (buy) cross and a "-1" for a down (sell) cross. As you can see it is not very impressive but it can be used in an OmniScan as indAroonCross(100) = 1 OR indAroonCross(100) = -1 to find all the crosses occuring today.

The top plot is the system which will place a buy or sell signal on the chart. It can also be used in a Strategy.

The indicator goes into the VBA/Indicators folder and the System goes into the VBA/Systems folder.

Note the nice signal on $SPX a few days back. Maybe that kid knows something we don't.

Tom Helget

[Edited by THOMAS HELGET on 8/21/2015 7:44 PM]

Attached file : Aroon Cross.PNG (44KB - 778 downloads)
Attached file : indAroonCross.txt (0KB - 186 downloads)
Attached file : sysAroonCross.txt (0KB - 203 downloads)

^ Top
Duxx

Elite
50010010010025
Posts: 825

Joined: 2/18/2009

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 9:44 PM
Post #23588 - In reply to #23576

HI Robert

Just curious the system only uses the crossover of the Aaron up and Aaron Down? I assume there is more to the system that the "kid" was using than a simple xover

Any ideas / thoughts?
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 10:06 PM
Post #23589 - In reply to #23576

Robert:

You need to have OmniTrader Pro for this to work.

Do you?

Tom Helget
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 10:13 PM
Post #23592 - In reply to #23576

Robert:

Did you copy the indAroonCross.txt file to the OT2015/VBA/Indicators folder and the sysAroonCross.txt file to the OT2015/VBA/Systems folder with OmniTrade not working?

Tom Helget
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3142

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 10:17 PM
Post #23593 - In reply to #23576

If you want a filter to prevent short/long trades in stocks when Aroon of $SPX is bull/bear, simply create a Filter in your strategy that is locked to $SPX, and has the following rules:

Longs:
Ar_up(100) > ar_dn(100)
Shorts:
Ar_up(100) < ar_dn(100)
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3142

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 10:21 PM
Post #23595 - In reply to #23576

Look under OmniLanguage indicators (middle of list, not top alphabet section)
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 10:24 PM
Post #23596 - In reply to #23576

Robert:

Doss everything compile when you Edit....OmniLanguage....Build....Compile All Projects?

Tom Helget
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 10:29 PM
Post #23598 - In reply to #23596

Robert:

If all compiles the Indicator will be listed under indAroonCross and the System under sysAroonCross under your Indicators and Systems tabs respectively for Chart Options.

Tom Helget
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3142

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/21/2015 10:47 PM
Post #23600 - In reply to #23576

To show in vote line of get any analysis results, you must create Strategy with System that Tom provided, filter that I provided, and whatever exit you whish.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3142

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/22/2015 6:12 AM
Post #23603 - In reply to #23576

Click ellipsis ... Button and type in $SPX, to tell the filter to Check market conditions when processing each symbol of the focus list.

But I have no idea why the error message is appearing. Not at my PC, but I think the syntax for Aroon calls is correct (use formula builder to check).

Also - never ever us "forming bars". That is a legacy feature which "cheats" in backtesting and should have been removed long ago. Use Previous in most cases - Dynamic is cool be slows things down a bit.
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/22/2015 9:04 AM
Post #23604 - In reply to #23576

Robert:

I really don't know, but attached is a Strategy using the Filter - note that it is only on the $SPX as you stated:



Copy it to the OT2014/Strategies folder.

It will be listed under Aroon Cross.

You will need to adjust the Stops to your taste.

Tom Helget

[Edited by THOMAS HELGET on 8/22/2015 9:07 AM]

Attached file : Filter.PNG (71KB - 718 downloads)
Attached file : Aroon Cross.ots (860KB - 178 downloads)

^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/22/2015 9:09 AM
Post #23605 - In reply to #23604

Robert:

I see I made an error in the Short Filter.

It is corrected below.

Tom Helget
Attached file : Aroon Cross.ots (860KB - 160 downloads)

^ Top
Greg

Veteran
100100252525
Posts: 297

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: Mishawaka, IN 46544

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/22/2015 1:19 PM
Post #23606 - In reply to #23576

When the indicator is placed in the indicator column in the focus list the only signal fired is 0. I changed the lookback to 5 and still only got a 0 signal on the all optional us stocks list (4293 stocks). Any thoughts.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3142

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/22/2015 1:22 PM
Post #23607 - In reply to #23606

Here is an update of Tom's indicator that includes an appropriate Return statement, which is necessary for use in focus list and other things

#Indicator

#PARAM "Periods", 100
Dim CrossState As Integer

If AR_UP(Periods)> AR_DOWN(Periods) AND AR_UP(Periods)[1] < AR_DOWN(Periods)[1] Then
CrossState = 1
ElseIf AR_UP(Periods)< AR_DOWN(Periods) AND AR_UP(Periods)[1] > AR_DOWN(Periods)[1] Then
CrossState = -1
Else
CrossState = 0
End If

Plot("Aroon Cross", CrossState)

Return CrossState

[Edited by Jim Dean on 8/22/2015 1:26 PM]

^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/22/2015 2:43 PM
Post #23608 - In reply to #23607

Jim:

Thanks, you are indeed very correct - I neglected the Return CrossState statement.

Tom Helget
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3142

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/23/2015 4:50 AM
Post #23610 - In reply to #23576

Sounds like you are talking about an always-in pure-reversal strategy. Pretty rarely used these days (lots of reasons). OT is very limited in this respect. The only way to set that up is to use an Orders Block (not a Trade Plan, therefore not omnipilot-able) … the OB should use a Reversing Signals exit (if memory serves re name, selected at the top). Note - strategies like this are rarely profitable, since the market spends more time in "flat" mode than in bull or bear, and you can get whipsawed to death. Furthermore, using a filter with this approach doesn't make much sense - it would delay the reversals, causing your trade to go more into the red.

[Edited by Jim Dean on 8/23/2015 4:52 AM]

^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/23/2015 12:19 PM
Post #23612 - In reply to #23576

Robert:

I agree with Jim and after looking at the reversing signals idea can easily see that it would be counter-productive giving up a huge amount of your profit in almost ever instance.

Instead I would suggest maybe a trailing profit stop or Ed's favorite Eighths stop with maybe a Fixed Loss Stop for extra protection.

You could set up some alternative strategies with different stops and then Strategy Wizard them to see if they could be improveed upon.

Tom Helget
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
500
Posts: 510

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/24/2015 5:30 PM
Post #23615 - In reply to #23612

Robert:

I have been looking at this again today and realized that I did have the short filter correct the first time.

So, I would suggest that you start with the Strategy shown in post #23604 above (the one with the picture of the Filter).

And, I am very, very sorry to have misled you!

Tom Helget

[Edited by THOMAS HELGET on 8/24/2015 5:32 PM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3142

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Would Like Aroon X indiactor and system
Posted : 8/25/2015 5:56 AM
Post #23617 - In reply to #23576

They have a lot on their plate now. Small stuff like that goes into a very long queue … many people ask for lots of stuff.

You can't manually add a symbol to a Scan-defined list, but you can to a My Symbols list. Just start with the scan list, then great a new My Symbols list and name it, then copy all the symbols from the scan list into the My Symbols list, then add $SPX or whatever to it.

Another method is to create the scan list using technical formulae. If you do that you can include the $spx in the formula explicitly with … or Symbol="$SPX" tacked on to your formula, and the Indexes list added to the Population.

[Edited by Jim Dean on 8/25/2015 6:18 AM]

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.