OmniTrader Professional Forum OmniTrader Professional Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Professional Forum
Trade Plans In Strategies
Check boxes in Trade Plan & Strategies.
Last Activity 5/21/2018 12:01 PM
1 replies, 1065 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
RJFCorp

New User

Posts: 3

Joined: 5/3/2013

User Profile
 
Subject : Check boxes in Trade Plan & Strategies.
Posted : 7/23/2016 9:01 AM
Post #26210

1. Is there a tutorial or video on how to use the different check boxes in the trade plan window? How they work etc.
2. In programming strategies, when using current+1 etc. How does strategy wizard work when the dynamic box is checked in the strategy filter block. Are trades only generated at the close of the higher period bar????? I understand "forming bar" can not be used and How "last bar" would work. I also am assuming forming bar can be used in RT trading - right. But how to compare or ensure strategy wizard results will translate to RT is an issue of concern.

Any help or direction would be much appreciated.

Richard

^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
2000100010025
Posts: 3128

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Check boxes in Trade Plan & Strategies.
Posted : 7/23/2016 9:23 AM
Post #26211 - In reply to #26210

Best place to start is the Help Manual. It's not comprehensive but will help with some things.

There is a long explanation about dynamic, previous, and forming bars. Do a search on any of those terms in the forums and you'll find a lot of discussion. Nutshell:

1. Do not use forming bars. They "cheat" at the HRE, so backtests are unrealistic. The option exists only for "legacy" purposes.

2. Dynamic bars are cool but significantly slow execution. Afaik they work ok with SW, but slowly.

3. I strongly recommend using previous bars. They are fast and they are intuitively similar to how people "think" of higher timeframes.

4. Signals are calculated at the completion of each current bar, regardless of which curr+N bar you select.

Hope this helps!

[Edited by Jim Dean on 7/23/2016 9:25 AM]

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.