OmniTrader Professional Forum OmniTrader Professional Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Professional Forum
OmniTrader Pro General Discussion
autotrading with OT17 pro
Last Activity 6/16/2018 12:00 AM
2 replies, 351 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
kmcintyre

Regular
2525
Posts: 59

Joined: 9/12/2007
Location: Valley Center, CA

User Profile
 
Subject : autotrading with OT17 pro
Posted : 8/7/2017 9:19 AM
Post #29625

I'm getting ready to go off the grid for a week, and I really wish I could put all my trading on autopilot. So OT17 and OV and VOSs all came back to me.

It's been a while since I tried automated trading with OT and OPilot using IBGateway. I'm wondering -

1) Does the autotrade feature of OT17 use IBG, or does it use the Garwood server?

2) Has anyone ran OT17 in a VPS and autotraded? Was it a reliable platform?

3) Has OV progressed to the point where I could load my personal strategies on the OV servers and use it to autotrade?

I appreciate all insights. But it will be a week before I read them...

Cheers!

Keith

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
1000500100100100252525
Posts: 1897

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: autotrading with OT17 pro
Posted : 8/7/2017 10:09 AM
Post #29626 - In reply to #29625

Hi Keith,

1. Either one. Auto Trade will send orders to whatever broker selection you have set in the broker toolbar.
2. I'm not sure. Maybe other customers can answer that have done this. Though we've made improvements recently to Auto Trade to help with stability.
3. Actually yes, we did finalize & release the capability to upload OmniTrader strategies to OV. Click here for more information.

^ Top
Steve Luerman

Veteran
100
Posts: 113

Joined: 2/15/2007
Location: Boulder, CO

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: autotrading with OT17 pro
Posted : 8/7/2017 10:13 AM
Post #29627 - In reply to #29625

Hi, Keith.
1) OT2017 can connect to either IBGateway or GXTrader (Garwood server). NOTE: I had some unexplained behavior when using the IBGateway. I believe Barry is still investigating that problem. So, I'd advise using GXTrader, and make sure you have PreRelease 2M installed.
See https://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/otforum/thread-view.asp?threadid=14442&posts=37.

2) I run OT2017 in a VMware VM and also an Amazon Web Server for auto trading. I consider a Virtual Machine to be a more reliable environment than running on a PC where other things are also running.

3) Haven't tried this.
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.