OmniTrader Professional Forum OmniTrader Professional Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Pro Resource Forum
OmniTrader Pro Technical Support
Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Last Activity 11/21/2019 4:15 AM
11 replies, 440 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
Diamondjag

Legend
1001001002525
Posts: 360

Joined: 3/12/2006
Location: Brighton, Colorado

User Profile
 
Subject : Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 2/24/2019 2:03 PM
Post #30307

I wonder if others have the problem I have with the warning "You've reached the maximum number of custom scans you can create." It tells me to "delete one or more of the existing scans and try again." I do that but it still won't allow another scan. In fact, I'm not trying to add a scan but just a new Symbol's List. And I have only one list now, "My Symbols". I get tired of fighting this. Anyone found a workaround?

Thanks

^ Top
roberthalljr

Member

Posts: 11

Joined: 3/4/2007

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 2/24/2019 9:10 PM
Post #30308 - In reply to #30307

Hello Diamond Jag - I too have had a similar problem for the reason that I prefer scans over filters. Therefore, I run into this problem frequently and need to delete scans (I put them on a thumb drive which usually means they are dead and buried) and move on to the new scans. I have tried to put them elsewhere within a second custom scan area but it makes no difference. So, your question and mine, why is there a limit, or at least there seems to be, on the number of scans we can have or write? I don't have the answer to that question but maybe someone else does.
^ Top
Diamondjag

Legend
1001001002525
Posts: 360

Joined: 3/12/2006
Location: Brighton, Colorado

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 2/24/2019 9:15 PM
Post #30309 - In reply to #30308

Robert, thanks for the reply. Another question is WHAT is the limit - how many scans can you have? Also, if you reach the limit and delete a few, why can't you then add new ones back.

Interesting idea, moving the scans off of OmniTrader. Occasionally I will convert an existing scan that I can live without to the new scan. Trouble today is that it wouldn't even let me build a List.
^ Top
roberthalljr

Member

Posts: 11

Joined: 3/4/2007

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 2/24/2019 11:32 PM
Post #30310 - In reply to #30307

Once again, I can only commensurate with your observations. I have the distinct impression, speculating, there is a limit to either the number of scans you can have or perhaps the amount of "code area" available within the space allocated for the scans. In my experience once you hit that threshold, you're done until you make room by either deleting some of the scans or any duplicate scans which are annotated with parentheses and a number, eg (2). By making room in this manner I am able to move on and add additional scans until it fills up again.
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
50025
Posts: 542

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 2/25/2019 10:16 AM
Post #30311 - In reply to #30310

Guys:

Yes, I have had that problem vex me too.

The way I deal with it is to back up the scan I want to delete via right-clicking on the scan and then Exporting it to the Folder OmniScan suggests. I also export it elsewhere (e.g. a USB drive) to have it available in the future if, for some reason, my computer crashes.

I have also found that when the suggestion comes that I have too many scans that removing just one scan isn't going to do the trick and take off four or five that I can maybe live without for the time being.

I then close down OT and restart it and that seems to do the trick.

Tom Helget
^ Top
Diamondjag

Legend
1001001002525
Posts: 360

Joined: 3/12/2006
Location: Brighton, Colorado

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 2/25/2019 10:21 AM
Post #30312 - In reply to #30311

Thomas, Thanks for the reply and the suggestions. Will try moving then deleting 4-5 and give restart a try.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
10005001001001001002525
Posts: 1972

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 3/1/2019 2:43 PM
Post #30315 - In reply to #30307

The current limit of custom scans is 96. It has decreased over time with the introduction of some other fields added that the scan database shares fields with. We're discussing a way to improve this so that more custom scans are possible.
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
50025
Posts: 542

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 3/1/2019 3:27 PM
Post #30316 - In reply to #30315

Barry:

That is great to hear!

Thanks,

Tom Helget
^ Top
mgerber

Member
25
Posts: 26

Joined: 3/30/2006
Location: Issaquah, WA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 3/1/2019 3:43 PM
Post #30317 - In reply to #30316

I think that I just encountered the same problem, but with a different generic error message!

--OT 2019 had been running good.
--After I downloaded and installed the Trade Secrets TS1-2a yesterday, OT 2019 coughed up an error message that generically said:
"you may have reached the maximum number of custom lists . . . "

Pared down my list of custom templates, rebooted, got the message again.
Pared down my list of custom profiles, rebooted, got the message again.
Pared down my list of custom OScans, rebooted . . . and OT is happy again.

I had not made any new OScans for weeks.

So apparently it was the TS1-2a added OScans that broke OT's back!


--Mark G.




[Edited by mgerber on 3/1/2019 3:53 PM]

Attached file : OT error message.doc (75KB - 35 downloads)
Attached file : OT error message.jpg (20KB - 36 downloads)
Attached file : OT error message.jpg (20KB - 37 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
10005001001001001002525
Posts: 1972

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 3/4/2019 1:09 PM
Post #30318 - In reply to #30307

The next PR should have no limit on the custom scans you can have.
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
50025
Posts: 542

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 3/4/2019 1:19 PM
Post #30319 - In reply to #30318

Barry:

Once again, SUPER!

Thanks so much,

Tom Helget
^ Top
Diamondjag

Legend
1001001002525
Posts: 360

Joined: 3/12/2006
Location: Brighton, Colorado

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Reached Maximum Number of Custom Scans
Posted : 3/4/2019 1:50 PM
Post #30320 - In reply to #30318

WOW! Great!
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.