OmniTrader Professional Forum OmniTrader Professional Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Pro Resource Forum
OmniTrader Pro Technical Support
OT Chart opens browser page!!!
Last Activity 4/9/2019 4:17 PM
1 replies, 55 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
LSJ

Regular
252525
Posts: 90

Joined: 7/23/2012
Location: Citrus Springs, FL

User Profile
 
Subject : OT Chart opens browser page!!!
Posted : 4/9/2019 2:56 PM
Post #30359

You are not going to believe this but I have spent the better part of a day tracking down this problem. My browser kept loading a web page ad for Dell computer. (The url for this page is: https://delivery.vidible.tv/htmlembed/pid=5977b96f955a317becf45788/5977b7a758415c179641bb35.html?vid=5ca565f58c3ae828d66d0a71&m.playback=click&m.disable_moat=1)

It is hard to believe it isn't something else but after many computer restarts with virus scanning etc. I finally noticed it occurred when opening and using OT. I have a profile that coincidently had three Dell charts and when it opened my browser (Chrome) opened with three pages of the same Dell ad. I closed the browser and opened a different profile - no Dell ads. Reopening the profile with the three Dell charts and again the browser added three more tabs of the same Dell ad. Finally I made a new profile with only two charts, Dell and ADBE. Switching the chart back and forth, the browser added another Dell tab each time the Dell chart was opened.

The problem is easily avoided but the reason would be interesting to know.


^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
100050010010010010025
Posts: 1932

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: OT Chart opens browser page!!!
Posted : 4/9/2019 4:17 PM
Post #30360 - In reply to #30359

What you are experiencing is a Yahoo News issue. It can occur on certain stocks, in this case you will see it if you chart symbol DELL.

It's because we use Yahoo News embedded in OmniTrader & that stock has a news item with a video link. Once that news item moves out of current news it will go away on its own.

Besides not charting the offending stock, there are 2 ways to prevent this behavior. Click Tools/Options & go to the Chart Options tab. You may disable “Download News and Fundamentals or "Enable Chart Tabs". Either one will prevent it.

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.