OmniTrader Professional Forum OmniTrader Professional Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Professional Forum
OmniTrader Pro General Discussion
Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Last Activity 12/3/2021 3:36 PM
34 replies, 682 viewings

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
John W

Regular
252525
Posts: 95

Joined: 6/18/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 1:27 AM
Post #31611

I've got 3 strategies that work on 6 symbols, they fire independently of each other, at different times on each symbol, although sometimes the strategies may fire together on 1 or more symbols.

My plan is to enter 5% each time a strategy fires on each symbol, theoretically I could get to 90% equity if all 3 strategies have all fired on all 6 symbols.

How do I set this up in the OT strategy or Portsim ATM Method?
It appears that no matter what ATM Method settings I use, if a trade from one of the strategies is already in place on a symbol, OT refuses to allow another entry on that symbol from the other two strategies.

I know that in OV it's possible for a symbol to have multiple strategies with multiple entries and growing position sizes per symbol, what setting am I missing in OT to make this possible?
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 5:26 AM
Post #31612 - In reply to #31611

Hi John

You can “scale in” if you set up the Trade Plan to handle it. The problem is that the second and third entry signals need to either be:

1. Driven by the canned TP Condition dropdown and radio button options - such as a Limit order when price exceeds 1 ATR beyond prior close.
- or -
2. An OmniScript condition such as sma(10) > sma(20).
- or -
3. An OLang Stop that can be very complex logic.

Nirvana does not allow its Systems to be “called” like indicators, so if you are using three canned Systems in your Strategies, they can only trigger the initial entry.

I’m assuming that you know you can set up the system block to have more than one system active, &/or create “secondary lines” in the strategy diagram that all feed into a single TP.

As to Port Sim - it used to be totally unable to handle partial exits (scaling out), but could handle some simple scaling-in strats that N release a year or two ago. My guess is that if you did set up scaling-in, it’s 50/50 whether PS would model it properly.


Fwiw, I do have a complete and comprehensive scaling in and out set of tools - I call it the Stradicator method (a full strategy in an indicator). It can do all those things, and much more. But it does not use canned Systems - the various entry rules have to be custom coded.

I hope this helps.

[Edited by Jim Dean on 9/22/2021 5:29 AM]

^ Top
John W

Regular
252525
Posts: 95

Joined: 6/18/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 6:43 AM
Post #31613 - In reply to #31612

Thankyou Jim for your comprehensive reply! I have also read your excellent post on scaling in elsewhere in this forum.

Item 3 of your reply could be a possible answer to my question.
Each of my 3 strategies is a GA.
Currently I have an Olang stop working as an exit when the short component of a GA fires.

I can adapt this to provide an entry also.
I could call the 2nd and 3rd GA's as part of the ARM functionality e.g. GAV_Long(0,0,4,"GA2") > 0 as part of the trade plan, and have multiple strategies and trade plans to cover the 3 alternatives.

Very clever idea of yours Jim, although it may be a bar or 2 late in entry. I'll play with it.

It would be even better if Nirvana could transport back to OT the technology that works so effectively in Omnivest to increase position sizes when each strategy fires. Perhaps this could go on the Nirvana Christmas wish list?
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 7:24 AM
Post #31614 - In reply to #31613

Sounds like a good plan, John ... I'm glad that works for you. You might be able to use the GA call in an OmniScript, too ... I never tried it but if it works, it's "cleaner".

Keep in mind that you might not necessarily get all three scale-in signals, and they might not always be in the same order. Your TP needs to account for that ... and will be a little more complex than a typical TP as a result.

I'd suggest that you pick the GA that fires earliest (if there is one) to be the "System" block that feeds the TP, for the initial entry. If you don't know which one is first, then you'll need a "generic" entry signal ... maybe use a Filter to kick the TP off, but the actual Entry wouldn't happen until one of the GA's fired. In that case, the TP would look something like this (season to taste) ...

Step 1
Condition: check GA#1 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 2
Condition: check GA#2 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 3
Condition: check GA#3 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 4
Condition: NBAR=30 ... failed to enter ... Jump to End
Step 2
Condition: check GA#2 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 5
Condition: check GA#3 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 6
Condition: NBAR=20 ... no second entry ... Jump to 10
Step 3
Condition: check GA#1 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 7
Condition: check GA#3 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 5
Condition: NBAR=20 ... no second entry ... Jump to 10
Step 4
Condition: check GA#1 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 6
Condition: check GA#2 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 5
Condition: NBAR=20 ... no second entry ... Jump to 10
Step 5
Condition: check GA#1 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 8
Condition: NBAR=10 ... no third entry ... Jump to 9
Step 6
Condition: check GA#2 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 8
Condition: NBAR=10 ... no third entry ... Jump to 9
Step 7
Condition: check GA#3 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 8
Condition: NBAR=10 ... no third entry ... Jump to 9
Step 8 (150% now)
... manage exits ... Jump to End
Step 9 (100% now)
... manage exits ... Jump to End
Step 10 (50% now)
... manage exits ... Jump to End


[Edited by Jim Dean on 9/22/2021 7:26 AM]

^ Top
John W

Regular
252525
Posts: 95

Joined: 6/18/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 7:32 AM
Post #31615 - In reply to #31614

Gotcha. One of the GA's is more likely to fire and I could fiddle with the NBAR jump too.
I'll try it out and let you know.

Thanks so much!!
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 7:46 AM
Post #31616 - In reply to #31615

Ah, good. Cleaner and simpler that way ... presuming GA#1 is used as the initial triggering System that kicks off the TP:

Step 1
(system fired GA#1) ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 2
Step 2
Condition: check GA#2 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 3
Condition: check GA#3 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 4
Condition: NBAR=20 ... no second entry ... Jump to 7
Step 3
Condition: check GA#3 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 5
Condition: NBAR=10 ... no third entry ... Jump to 6
Step 4
Condition: check GA#2 ... Buy 50% ... Jump to 5
Condition: NBAR=10 ... no third entry ... Jump to 6
Step 5 (150% now)
... manage exits ... Jump to End
Step 6 (100% now)
... manage exits ... Jump to End
Step 7 (50% now)
... manage exits ... Jump to End

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Idol
20001002525
Posts: 2173

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 11:06 AM
Post #31617 - In reply to #31611

Make sure your Port Sim method's Strategies tab is set to "Use These Strategies" so that Port Sim will "see" each strategy's individual voteline. If it's set to "Use Portfolio Simulation Setting for Strategies then Port Sim will only "see" the main/top voteline.

And for multiple trades on the same symbol, OT can't do that. It will ignore trades for a symbol if there's already a trade open on that symbol. That includes Port Sim too.

^ Top
Ken Wilsdon

Member

Posts: 15

Joined: 3/26/2018
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 3:17 PM
Post #31618 - In reply to #31617

Hi Barry,

If I understand your answer correctly, you are saying that multiple add on trades do not show in the Omnitrader crystal reports, nor on the vote line advisor, nor in Port Sim (with use these strategies) with the same symbol?

Is this also true for multiple partial exits, like with T21 and VBX4 or other trade plans that might have 2, 3 or more exits in the TP? Do these not show up in the vote line advisor, nor the crystal reports, nor Port Sim with the same symbol?

Can you clarify what does and doesn't show correctly in these areas when a trade plan may have multiple entries and exits on the same symbol? A lot of trading decisions are based in each of these 3 areas, and it would be good to have this understood correctly by everyone.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 4:34 PM
Post #31619 - In reply to #31618

I believe that Barry was answering your original question, and skipping over the solution that I provided.

It looked to me like he was saying that if you have three separate Strategies, they can't trade the same Symbol at the same time ... that PortSim doesn't allow it ... that sequential entries would not occur, and not be additive.

The TP structures I laid out to scale-in using should work fine, but I'm NOT certain that PortSim, or even the VoteLine Advisor, will understand what's going on and properly respond to it. (For my scaling in/out projects, I've found a way to step around PortSim, so that things can be properly modelled and backtested in Excel.)

However, since N *did* release a "scaling in" plugin a while back, I'd *assume* that they made sure that the Voteline Advisor, and PortSim, properly handled it. I've doubts mainly about how those two respond to scaling out.

[Edited by Jim Dean on 9/22/2021 4:38 PM]

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Idol
20001002525
Posts: 2173

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 5:33 PM
Post #31620 - In reply to #31619

I believe that Barry was answering your original question, and skipping over the solution that I provided.

It looked to me like he was saying that if you have three separate Strategies, they can't trade the same Symbol at the same time ... that PortSim doesn't allow it ... that sequential entries would not occur, and not be additive.


Yes that is all true. Scaling in/out in a trade plan does work (Port Sim will only show the initial entry & final exit though & not each in/out step) & Jim's earlier replies would probably work too, as long as it's one trade at a time. Meaning you have Strategy A place a trade plan & it can scale in/out with multiple steps, partial exits, etc, but while that trade is active, Strategy B's signal cannot start a new trade on that same symbol.

I see your other questions, Ken, but hopefully this is clear now. Let me know if it isn't.

^ Top
Ken Wilsdon

Member

Posts: 15

Joined: 3/26/2018
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/22/2021 8:41 PM
Post #31621 - In reply to #31620

Thank you Jim and Barry,

I must not have read the thread carefully enough, or misinterpreted what was being said. I know you can't have multiple strategies fire simultaneously on the same symbol, as pulling up the vote line reveals which strategy actually is being taken by the symbol, and it can't have more than one.

So I take it, Barry, that you are saying that multiple add on trades as well as multiple partial exits will be handled by all of the reports, port sim, and vote line advisor in OT, if similar to the TP that Jim outlined above.
^ Top
John W

Regular
252525
Posts: 95

Joined: 6/18/2011
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/23/2021 3:11 AM
Post #31622 - In reply to #31620

Thanks Barry and Jim, great advice and I’ve been able to prove the concept, and it works.
I’m not sure if every trade works as advertised but it looks very good, I will do more detailed checks on results this weekend.

I’ve attached an example of a Trade Plan set out similar to your suggestion Jim, slightly modified because I have a different exit on one of the 3 long strategies.
At step 5 or 6 two of the strategies use the same trailing stop to exit.
At Step 5 or 7 the third strategy uses a GA that looks for opportunities to short the market as an exit signal (see the Omniscript editor box as an example how this can be done).

The benefit of Jim’s approach is all 3 strategies can enter and grow position size on a symbol at different times, and exit at different times too.

The only other way I know to achieve this is to upload each of the 3 strategies to Omnivest because it allows multiple strategies to independently add position sizes on a symbol, but I don’t know if OV allows partial exits (Barry, perhaps you could comment here?)




[Edited by John W on 9/23/2021 4:57 AM]

Attached file : 2021-09-23_17-50-04.jpg (149KB - 320 downloads)

^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/23/2021 8:44 AM
Post #31623 - In reply to #31622

Nice job, John!

Partial exits are not very difficult in TP's unless they are mixed with scaling-in. If you scale in, that means you can end up with differing Sizes ... and each possible size needs its own dedicated Partial-Exit "path out". It gets even more complicated if the exits can occur in-between the scaling-in "adds". I've built TP's to handle totally dynamic mixes, but even when optimized, they can run into hundreds of Steps.

So, I recommend that for simplicity, you choose either to use only scaling in, or only scaling out ... and if you decide to try both, REQUIRE that once the scaling out starts, no further scaling in is allowed.

Final note: since OT is not very friendly if the broker Size and OT's calc'd Size are different (it disconnects the TP), do NOT use any order types, in or out, that could result in Partial Fills, or Delayed fills. MoO or Market orders are the safest route.

[Edited by Jim Dean on 9/23/2021 8:53 AM]

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Idol
20001002525
Posts: 2173

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/23/2021 11:38 AM
Post #31624 - In reply to #31622

I don’t know if OV allows partial exits (Barry, perhaps you could comment here?)


OV is much more limited on order types & stops. It does not support partial exits or scaling in/out. The one thing though that OV can do that OT cannot is allow multiple trades from different strategies at the same time for the same symbol.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Idol
20001002525
Posts: 2173

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/23/2021 11:46 AM
Post #31625 - In reply to #31621

So I take it, Barry, that you are saying that multiple add on trades as well as multiple partial exits will be handled by all of the reports, port sim, and vote line advisor in OT, if similar to the TP that Jim outlined above.


Basically yes, but most of those areas will not show every in & out from a multi-step trade plan. Take for example a 4 step trade plan. The voteline will only show the beginning & end of the trade (entry signal + exit). OT will not display a visual indication there that a partial exit has taken place. The advisor window will show the steps however if you click on the voteline exit. Backtesting in all forms (reports, Strategy Wizard, Port Sim, etc) will not display or record the middle steps. They only display the entry & exit (the beginning & end of the trade when the trade plan is completed), just like the voteline display.
^ Top
Ken Wilsdon

Member

Posts: 15

Joined: 3/26/2018
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/23/2021 12:42 PM
Post #31626 - In reply to #31625

Thanks Barry, that helps a lot, and is what I suspected from experience.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/23/2021 1:05 PM
Post #31627 - In reply to #31626

Hi, Barry

Thanks for the detailed info ... I'm glad that PortSim and StratWiz, etc handle scaling!

Just to be sure, though: even if we don't *see* the intermediate changes in position size that occur during the trade for scaling in &/or out, do PortSim calc's properly account for them?

NOTABLY, if the tradeplan uses MoO, then an intermediate bar with a scaling-*signal* should have that bar's CURRENT size applied to the overnight gap price-change, and should use the NEW size (from the scaling-order) applied to the (Close-Open) price from the Next bar. IS THAT CORRECT? It presumes that the PortSim plot shows "Close to Close" net Prof/Loss.


[Edited by Jim Dean on 9/23/2021 1:07 PM]

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Idol
20001002525
Posts: 2173

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/23/2021 6:08 PM
Post #31628 - In reply to #31627

Just to be sure, though: even if we don't *see* the intermediate changes in position size that occur during the trade for scaling in &/or out, do PortSim calc's properly account for them?


Yes. Port Sim takes all the information from each trade on the voteline. So in the case of a multistep partial exit trade, if you look at the voteline advisor exit information, that's the information that Port Sim uses to get it's entries & exits for each step & calculates them with Port Sim's share sizes.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/23/2021 6:48 PM
Post #31629 - In reply to #31628

Ok thanks. So - if the Advisor Popup is correct, PortSim is too. The last time I checked the advisor with a scaling strategy, it was really wonky. That was a couple years ago. Have you fixed it for scaling in and out now? What PR? I don’t recall seeing a note about that.

[Edited by Jim Dean on 9/23/2021 6:49 PM]

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Idol
20001002525
Posts: 2173

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/24/2021 8:30 AM
Post #31630 - In reply to #31629

if the Advisor Popup is correct, PortSim is too.


Yes.

The last time I checked the advisor with a scaling strategy, it was really wonky. That was a couple years ago. Have you fixed it for scaling in and out now? What PR? I don’t recall seeing a note about that.


I'm not sure what you mean. Wonky how? I don't recall any fixes to partial exit trade plans save for the recent fix in 2J.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/24/2021 8:46 AM
Post #31631 - In reply to #31630

Hi, Barry ...

"Wonky" definition ;~)

Way back when, scaling TP's such as I showed earlier, and/or ones that did scaling out, showed incorrect prices &/or execution bars (or didn't show up at all) in the Advisor popup ... I reported it, but since N didn't care about scaling back then (my guess), it was not dealt with at the time. The VoteLine Advisor, at the time, didn't know how to deal with scaling in & out.

If it does now, there must have been a time when it got fixed. This could have been any time in the past 2-3 years. That's why I asked.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Idol
20001002525
Posts: 2173

Joined: 1/1/1900

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/24/2021 9:40 AM
Post #31632 - In reply to #31631

Ok. Again I don't recall any fixes, so my guess is what you were seeing is still not fixed, but that could be using a particular type of stop or order type. I don't see incorrect prices using the VBX-4 or T21 Partial Exit trade plans using daily bars with market or market on open.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/24/2021 11:24 AM
Post #31633 - In reply to #31632

Thanks. I did a lot of testing way back when on StopMkt and Limit orders. They might have been part of the problem.
^ Top
Ken Wilsdon

Member

Posts: 15

Joined: 3/26/2018
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/24/2021 11:35 AM
Post #31634 - In reply to #31611

Jim,

I just reviewed a N video the other day from 2019, and they said the Advisor had been updated that year with the release of OT 2019. Going back to the "What's New" section of help for that year, they show how the Advisor rating system was changed, and how it is now calculated. I suspect it was then that the change you are asking about occurred.
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100100252525
Posts: 3389

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Help with Multiple Entry Strategies
Posted : 9/24/2021 12:01 PM
Post #31635 - In reply to #31634

Thanks, Ken.

Next time I get into TradePlan testing-mode, I'll thoroughly check it out and report here. It certainly would be nice to be able to use it, and SW, and PS, for scaled trades!
Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.