OmniTrader Professional Forum OmniTrader Professional Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
OmniTrader Professional Forum
Feature Requests
Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Last Activity 10/13/2019 6:44 PM
13 replies, 1103 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
tradermike

 
Subject : Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 10/16/2006 5:22 PM
Post #3309

I would like to have the ability to create an indicator based on one timeframe, but then have that value plotted on a different timeframe.

Conceptually, this is similar to plotting daily & hourly support/resistance & trendline values on say a 15min chart.

For example, let’s say that you want to calculate the 15 period SMA based on the daily close, then see that plotted on a 5min chart. (If you think about it, this value would show up as a horizontal line during the shorter timeframes.)

Right now in OmniLanguage we refer to variables such as O H L C. We can also do things like use the value from the close of yesterday by using “C[1]”. The restriction is, this always refers to the current timeframe. I would like to have the ability to specify the value from a particular date and/or time. I’m not sure what the best implementation is, but here’s a generic example or two:

C[1, D] >> where “1” is the previous “bar” and “D” is the “bar” time or type (daily data in this case).
C[1, H] >> where “1” is the previous “bar” and “H” is the “bar” time or type (hourly data in this case).

It would also be of value to be able to specify a specific bar within a given timeframe. For example, the 9:00am bar on the hourly chart.

My first motivation for making this request is related to a previous request:
http://www.omnitrader.com/omnitrader/proforum/thread-view.asp?threadid=711&posts=1
It was requested that OT add some sort of Pivot Point charting capability. (Commonly used in the FOREX arena.) Then I thought that I could probably just code up this indicator myself. But now I learned that we currently cannot reference values from a different timeframe. So here I am.

I suspect that after one thinks about this request for a while, you will realize that there probably are several useful applications for this feature (plotting indicators across timeframes) and I suspect other people will be interested too.

Thanks for your consideration.
--Mike


[Edited by tradermike on 10/16/2006 5:22 PM]

^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100
Posts: 3223

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 10/16/2006 7:34 PM
Post #3311 - In reply to #3309

I replied to your other posting here:

https://www.omnitrader.com/currentclients/proforum/thread-view.asp?threadid=712

[Edited by Jim Dean on 8/4/2019 12:06 PM]

^ Top
Bill Graves

Veteran
100252525
Posts: 184

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 10/20/2006 4:54 PM
Post #3331 - In reply to #3309

I concur with Mike. I feel it would be a great enhancement for OT to have this capability.

Mike has mentioned some of the uses already, but they are almost limitless. For example, one could plot a monthly 30 EMA on a daily chart, etc.

If created with full functionality, one should be able to plot any indicator from one time frame on any other timeframe. This has been a built in function in TradeStation for many years.

Please consider this valuable enhancement.

Thank you,
^ Top
ANick

Elite
500100
Posts: 614

Joined: 3/7/2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 10/20/2006 7:30 PM
Post #3332 - In reply to #3309

I agree, this would be very useful.

ANick
^ Top
Wes

Member
25
Posts: 49

Joined: 3/14/2006
Location: London ON

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 10/25/2006 2:09 AM
Post #3342 - In reply to #3332

Usefull, and part of most other tools such as tradestation and amibroker
^ Top
ANick

Elite
500100
Posts: 614

Joined: 3/7/2006
Location: Ocean Springs, MS

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 12/19/2006 8:32 AM
Post #3657 - In reply to #3309

Please 120M and 240m times frames for charts.


Thanks
ANick


^ Top
Manfred

Veteran
100100
Posts: 210

Joined: 4/2/2006
Location: South Africa

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 2/15/2007 10:37 AM
Post #4059 - In reply to #3309

Feel free to add my vote to the list. I'd find this useful too.
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
50025
Posts: 537

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 2/15/2007 11:24 AM
Post #4063 - In reply to #4059

Support:

I would also like to endorse inclusion of this useful tool.

Tom Helget
^ Top
Chris Ellis

Member

Posts: 9

Joined: 10/17/2006
Location: Tampa, FL

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 8/25/2007 8:01 AM
Post #6235 - In reply to #3309

This would be a powerful addition and fully support this recommendation.
^ Top
sooper1

Veteran
100
Posts: 121

Joined: 3/14/2006
Location: Evergreen, CO 80439

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 9/19/2007 2:19 PM
Post #6610 - In reply to #3309

That would be great! One more tool in the box to help with complex trades and just for confirming reference on a chart. DO IT please.

:-) ~s
sooper1
^ Top
ap·pren·ticeGuru

Regular
252525
Posts: 95

Joined: 10/22/2010
Location: Columbia, MD

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 8/4/2019 11:54 AM
Post #30498 - In reply to #3309


**bump**

... old post, but always a GOLD as time matures, it's never too late. :-).
^ Top
Hey Ed!

Veteran
100
Posts: 110

Joined: 6/4/2007
Location: New York, NY

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 10/13/2019 3:50 PM
Post #30545 - In reply to #3309

<< I suspect that after one thinks about this request for a while, you will realize that there probably are several useful applications for this feature (plotting indicators across timeframes) and I suspect other people will be interested too. >>

I'm interested!
^ Top
THOMAS HELGET

Legend
50025
Posts: 537

Joined: 3/22/2006
Location: BALDWINSVILLE, NEW YORK

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 10/13/2019 6:18 PM
Post #30546 - In reply to #30545

Hey Ed!

This was exactly my request for OmniTrader 2020.

Let's hope that our dreams might come true.

Tom Helget
^ Top
Jim Dean

Sage
20001000100100
Posts: 3223

Joined: 3/13/2006
Location: L'ville, GA

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Plotting indicators across multiple timeframes
Posted : 10/13/2019 6:44 PM
Post #30547 - In reply to #30546

My request, too ... but I asked for it in a different, more versatile way.

I asked for OmniLanguage and OmniScript code to be able to *reference* an alternate timeframe in the formula.

So, if you can reference it for calc's, the output plot can be based on it.

The advantage to taking my approach is that you can mix *MULTIPLE* timeframe logic (ie more than just two) in whatever way you want.

However, given that this request has been around since 2006 (I think I was the first to ask for it way back then) ... I doubt it will appear anytime soon.

[Edited by Jim Dean on 10/13/2019 6:45 PM]

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.